Are All Maraschino Cherries Gluten Free?

No, all maraschino cherries are not gluten free. Unfortunately those who have allergies and sensitivities will need to be extra cautious when reading the labels of different maraschino cherry brands.

What are maraschino cherries?

Maraschino cherries are cherries that have been bleached and artificially colored a bright red color. They are typically made from Rainier, Gold, and the Royal Ann varieties of cherries. 

The maraschino cherry originated in Croatia from the marasca cherry. The cherries were added to a liquor making process and thus became pickled. Recreation of the cherries began after the marasca cherry became scarce.

Are all maraschino cherries gluten free?

While cherries themselves are completely gluten free in their natural form, maraschino cherries are not. This is because the maraschino cherries are created with preservatives. Some manufactures may choose to use a gluten product in their preservative recipes.

When purchasing maraschino cherries and considering gluten free options, be sure to thoroughly read the label. Many manufacturers of maraschino cherries are starting to use gluten free preservation methods. These brands usually label their products as gluten-free.

Some cherry makers do not label their products gluten free, even though none of the ingredients contain gluten. This is because during the manufacturing process there could be a risk of cross-contamination from production of other non-gluten free items.

What brands of maraschino cherries are gluten free?

There are several major maraschino cherry brands that are labeled as gluten free. Some of these brands are:

  • Tillon Farms

  • Members Mark

  • The Royal Cherry

  • Cherry Man

  • Walmart Great Value

  • Trader Joe’s

If you are unable to find any of these brands, you may also have luck at a local farmer’s market. If you find a vendor, make sure that you ask about gluten in their products.

Meta Description: Are all maraschino cherries gluten free? The answer may surprise you. Read on to learn more about the sweet cherry’s history and nutritional information.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}