Are Dallies Sprinkles Gluten Free?

Are Dallies Sprinkles Gluten Free

Dallies sprinkles might be gluten free.

Are you making a sweet treat for your gluten-free loved one but don’t know if Dallies sprinkles are safe to use or not? Keep reading to learn more!

Are Dallies Sprinkles Gluten Free?

Dallies sprinkles might be gluten free. They contain many colorings as well as natural and artificial flavors, all of which may contain gluten.

About Dallies Sprinkles

Sprinkles are tiny confectionery pieces used as colorful decorations or to create texture in desserts like ice cream, doughnuts, cupcakes, and brownies. Dallies is a manufacturer that makes sprinkles.

History of Sprinkles

Nonpareils, or tiny balls made out of starch and sugar, date all the way to the 1700s as decoration for desserts.

Dutch sprinkles were invented by Erven H. de Jong in 1913. A Dutch company named Venz made these sprinkles popular. They were used on bread. Eventually, a machine was made that could create the sprinkles. The Dutch name for sprinkles comes after the word for hail

Chocolate sprinkles are often referred to as jimmies in the United States and were credited in Brooklyn, New York. They don’t actually have to contain chocolate, while in other countries sprinkles must contain a certain percentage of real chocolate to be advertised as chocolate sprinkles.

Kinds of Sprinkles

There are many different kinds of decorations that are all colloquially referred to as sprinkles. Manufacturers tend to label things more distinctly than consumers will describe them. The general population considers anything that is “sprinkled” on top of a dessert to be sprinkles.

Types of sprinkles include sequins, sugar shapes, hundreds-and-thousands, pearl sugar, dragees, confetti, and nonpareils.

Sprinkles can come in many themes for the holidays such as tiny Christmas trees or pumpkins.

The main thing that separates all the sprinkles are color, size, texture, and taste. Some sprinkles have little to no taste and are mainly used as decoration, while others are very sugary and are vital to the recipe’s taste.

Uses

Sprinkles typically require something sticky like frosting or ice cream to stick to the surface. They are often found on things like sugar cookies and cupcakes.

In the Netherlands, chocolate sprinkles are used as toppings for sandwiches, as they also are in Belgium, Indonesia, and Suriname. 

It is called fairy bread when buttered white bread with sprinkles is made as a snack for children. Fairy bread is popular in New Zealand and Australia.

Confetti cake has sprinkles mixed into the batter. They dissolve slowly and form tiny colored spots, which makes it look like there is confetti in the cake. This is popular in the United States, especially at children’s birthday parties. 

Ingredients

Dallies Rainbow Ice Cream Sprinkles 6.15 oz.

  • Sugar
  • Corn Starch
  • Palm Oil
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Sunflower Lecithin
  • Dextrin
  • Confectioner’s Glaze
  • FD&C Yellow 5 Lake
  • Red 40 Lake
  • Yellow 6 Lake
  • Blue 1 Lake
  • Red 3
  • Natural & Artificial Flavor
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Blue 1

Nutritional Information

Calories 12
Carbohydrates 5g
Sugar 4g
Fat 1g

Sources

https://www.meijer.com/shopping/product/dallies-rainbow-ice-cream-sprinkles-6-15-oz-/71548301280.html

https://myshipleydonuts.com/the-history-of-sprinkles

http://www.math.union.edu/~dpvc/personal/Kim-at-Large/travel-log/cgi/read.cgi?type=Utrecht&key=2005-02-13.17-52-46.9497.klp

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}