Looking for gluten-free snacks can be tiresome. If you’ve got a gluten intolerance or allergy, every ingredient on the packing has to be checked, and several times over just to be sure.
Not all products at the supermarket list whether something is gluten-free or not, so you’ll have to be conscious of it yourself. But while that can be a strenuous task, it’s vital for your health and safety.
Pork rinds are a high-protein snack that is made from pigskin. It’s essentially boiled, dried, and then deep-fried to make this snack. Obviously, this isn’t a suitable snack for vegetarians or vegans, but are pork rinds gluten-free?
Yes, typically pork rinds are gluten-free. However, this could change depending on a few things.
Are All Variations Of Pork Rinds Gluten-Free?
While most pork rinds are gluten-free, these factors could change that.
Firstly, the ingredients are likely to change from brand to brand, so only some brands might be gluten-free. There may be certain seasonings that change from one brand to another, and some of these could potentially contain gluten.
Secondly, in some cases, the pork rinds may be cooked in the same oils as other gluten-containing products, so there would be very high chances of cross-contamination. Therefore, this would become too much of a risk, and wouldn’t be advised for people with severe gluten allergies.
Gluten-Free Brands of Pork Rinds
Some pork rinds that are definitely gluten-free and safe to eat are:
- Southern Recipe Small Batch
- Pork King Good
- Rudolph’s
Ingredients
Depending on the brand and flavoring, ingredients will vary. The ingredients for Southern Recipe Small Batch Sea Salt and Cracked Black Pepper are:
Sea Salt, Black Pepper, Pork Rinds, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Sunflower Oil, Yeast Extract, Maltodextrin, Citric Acid, and Natural Flavors.
Nutritional Information
The serving size for the Southern Recipe Small Batch pork rinds is 14g. Each serving contains 4.5g fat, 1g carbohydrates, 0g sugar, 8g protein, and 70 calories!