The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

Popsicles, which people of all ages love to eat, especially children, have appeared on our supermarket shelves under many brand names over the years. While some ice cream companies use gluten in their products, most of the popsicles do not contain gluten at all! 

However, before you buy a popsicle, you should carefully read the label on it. Although in general popsicles do not contain gluten, each company has their own ingredients and may use gluten in some, if not all of their products. 

Gluten-free popsicles are safe for the gluten-intolerant to eat, especially for those with celiac. Gluten-free popsicles are very easy to come by as most popsicles are naturally free of wheat or gluten.

Today, many brands try to satisfy their entire customer base by producing gluten-free ice creams too! Although Popsicles are safe as they are mostly only made of water, sugar and syrup, an ingredient may change so it’s always best to keep re-checking your favourite popsicle ingredients.

Most Popular Gluten-Free Popsicle Brands

The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles


The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

Aiden’s, formerly known as Julie’s, is big on the market with gluten-free popsicles. Their products have the seal of approval and are GFCO certified, which tells you which products do not contain gluten or any other allergen substance.

Aiden’s aims to deliver the most natural and high-quality popsicles to its customers by using only organic fruit and allergen-free ingredients across its entire range. These include but are not limited to:

  • Classic Fudge Bar
  • Freckled Strawberry Yogurt Bar
  • New School Orange Cream Bar
  • Root Beer Float Bar
  • Chloe’s Pops

Jonny Pops

The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

Jonny Pops ice creams are produced solely for consumers sensitive to gluten and other allergens. Jonny Popsis always a safe bet, and one of the most reliable Popsicle brands in the world.

Some of their customers’ favourites are:

  • Blackberry Sorbet
  • Mango Sorbet
  • Raspberry Sorbet
  • Strawberry Sorbet
  • JonnyPops


The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

Luigi’s Popsicles are absolutely gluten-free and you can consume these ice creams with no problems at all. Not only are they gluten-free, but also allergen-free and are made in a peanut-free controlled zone, making them one of the safest popsicles around.

You might like to try: 

  • Cold Press Choco Latte
  • Double Chocolate Fudge
  • Mint Chocolate Dip
  • Old-Fashioned Root Beer Float

Fruit First

Ever thought of making your very own popsicles? All you need is some crushed fruit and just add water! Pour the mixture into a popsicle mould and freeze overnight. You can’t get any more gluten-free than that. Homemade popsicles are healthier and taste great too!

Fresh fruit mixtures to try in your homemade popsicles are:

  • Mango ; Lime juice
  • Pineapple ; Coconut
  • Raspberries ; Blueberries
  • Strawberries ; Bananas
  • Summer Strawberries ; cream

Are Gluten-Free Popsicles Safe?

The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

Gluten-free popsicles are 100% safe to eat because they are naturally gluten-free! standard popsicles are 90% water. The rest is sugar, gum, stabilizers and syrup. Natural, homemade popsicles are only water and syrup or fruit – making them even healthier than supermarket brands and still gluten-free!

As mentioned before, popsicles are great for people who react to gluten and other similar allergens and are preferred by many today even those without a diagnosis of gluten intolerance.

Although the ingredients and values of the popsicles are presented to the customers on the label, according to some experts, companies may minimise the risk.

The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

Although such comments may leave room for doubt, all brands do have to register their products as gluten-free and spot checks and testing are required.

Always look out for the GFOC certification on the packaging. Companies with the GFOC (Gluten-Free Certification Organization) have legally proven that their products are absolutely gluten-free. 

People with health problems such as celiac disease should find out whether their chosen brand has this certificate before consuming these products. Depending on the severity of your condition, double-checking the labels of any product will keep you safe and give you peace of mind to enjoy your snack!

Are Popsicles Celiac-Friendly?

The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

In general, not all popsicles are gluten-free. If you have celiac disease you should read the label carefully before buying.

People who are hypersensitive to gluten with diseases such as celiac should refer to well-known and reliable brands as much as possible. Established brands are nearly always gluten-free, and you would be hard-pressed to find a popsicle that isn’t gluten-free. 

Lesser known brands, however, can vary in their ingredients and the manufacturing sources are not always as well known. Therefore, stick to supermarket brands and you should be fine.  

Brands that have Gluten-free certifications will proudly present them on their packaging because their products passed certain tests and met the essential criteria set by an external organisation which prioritizes the needs of gluten-free individuals.

Read More >> The Truth About Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones

What Is GFCO?

The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

The Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) is a nonprofit gluten-tolerance organization operating since 1974. 

It aims to give certificates to companies that manufacture gluten-free products, provided that they pass certain standards and tests, and to support consumers with gluten intolerance. 

The organization cooperates with many brands that sell their products all around the world.

It ensures financial circulation by making investments to support the gluten-free society through funding and makes producing gluten-free products more attractive to food companies. 

The institution is expanding its operations every day and has achieved very effective results for gluten-intolerant people, especially celiac patients.

Are Popsciles Containing Gluten Harmful?

The Best Gluten-Free Popsicles

Gluten causes digestive and stomach problems in some people. A number of health problems may occur if foods containing large amounts of gluten are consumed. 

Today, gluten-free products are produced especially for people who suffer from diseases such as celiac. People who are also allergic to gluten may show some symptoms if they consume this food. 

Constipation, skin touch, weight loss and depression are common symptoms of gluten intolerance, however, gluten is not harmful to all people. Most people can digest and process gluten without harmful effects.

However, if you have a diagnosed gluten intolerance and allergy, consuming these products continuously can cause serious damage to the body, now and in the future. Therefore, when buying popsicles, or any other kind of food product, you should consider whether they are gluten-free and carefully read the ingredients on the label.

Read More >> The Best Gluten-Free Ice Cream Sandwiches

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}