Does Sonic Have Gluten Free Ice Cream?

Does Sonic Have Gluten Free Ice Cream?

Yes, Sonic Drive-In does have ice cream that is completely gluten free! Sonic Drive-In, or just Sonic for short, is an American fast food restaurant that is located throughout the United States. Filled with delicious menu items like sandwiches, tater tots and slushies, it is the only Drive-In chain in the Nation.

History of Sonic Drive-In

Does Sonic Have Gluten Free Ice Cream?

At the end of World War II a man named Troy Smith Sr. returned to his hometown of Seminole, Oklahoma. After a few years of delivering bread and milk, Smith opened a place called Top Hat in Shawnee, Oklahoma. 

Top Hat was originally a small diner with walk up or carside service. The carside service was disorganized and unsuccessful until Smith decided to create a parking lot type space with speaker boxes at each slot. Doing this, Smith could control the flow of traffic better and sales immediately tripled.

Read More >> What’s Gluten-Free At Freshens?

In 1959 the Top Hat name was changed to Sonic Drive-In after learning that the Top Hat name had already been trademarked.By the 1980’s and 1990’s Sonic was such a hit that Smith decided to franchise out his stores.

Today, Sonic employs almost 10,000 employees at more than 4,200 corporate and franchised stores across the United States. With a stacked menu that continues to grow, the future forecast for the brand looks bright.

Gluten Free Ice Cream

Does Sonic Have Gluten Free Ice Cream?

Gluten is the name for a specific protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and other foods. There are many people that have gluten sensitivities or allergies. Some suffer from a gluten induced condition called Celiac’s disease. Celiac’s is an autoimmune disease that prevents the proper digestion of gluten throughout the body.

Sonic has over 7 different flavors of ice cream with more than 20 toppings that could be added. It may surprise you to learn that all of Sonic’s ice cream and toppings are completely gluten free! 

Other Gluten Free Menu Items

Sonic Drive-In has many other gluten free items available for purchase. All of their french fries, tater tots and sweet potato tots are gluten free just like the ice cream! Drinks, cheeses, and all other toppings found on the Sonic menu are gluten free as well.

Read More >> What’s Gluten-Free at Krispy Kreme?

In fact, everything on the Sonic menu is gluten free except their bread. If you have gluten sensitivities or allergies but would like to eat at Sonic, be sure to order your sandwich without bread. This will ensure you can safely eat their food.

Risk of Cross-Contamination

Does Sonic Have Gluten Free Ice Cream?

While most menu items at Sonic are gluten free, there is always a risk of cross-contamination during the manufacturing and packaging process and during cooking. Sonic uses only one type of fryer in their stores. That means that even though something is gluten free, it may have been fried in oil with other foods that are not.

During the packaging and manufacturing process there is always a concern of cross-contamination where they are producing foods for the Sonic Drive-Ins. Wheat dust is a major concern for those with especially high sensitivities to gluten. 

Meta Description: Is Sonic’s ice cream gluten free? The answer might surprise you! Read on to learn more about Sonic Drive-In and all of their gluten free menu options!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}