Gluten-Free Graham Crackers

Graham crackers are an easy snack and an essential part of making s’mores. However, for those who have gluten intolerance or choose to eat a gluten free diet, it is not always clear if graham crackers are gluten free, and if so, which brands of graham crackers are gluten free. 

Graham crackers are traditionally made with graham flour, which is a variety of wheat flour. This makes them unsuitable for people with gluten intolerance or those who choose to eat a glutenfree diet. However, there are some brands that make graham crackers that are gluten-free, as well as other graham cracker variation snacks that you can find easily in stores.

If you still want to participate in making s’mores with friends this summer but are limited by gluten intolerance or a gluten free diet, it is still possible to do so while avoiding gluten. Read on to learn more about gluten free graham crackers, which brands make gluten free graham crackers, and where you can buy them.

Are Graham Crackers Gluten-Free?

Since graham crackers are often made using wheat flour or whole wheat flour, also known as graham flour, they are not always gluten free. Some brands will make gluten free graham crackers,, while some companies are dedicated to making gluten free products, including graham crackers. However, there is not a guarantee that every box of graham crackers at your local store is gluten free.

Oftentimes, big name brands that make graham crackers do not produce gluten free alternatives. Typically, you will need to look for companies known for or dedicated to making gluten free products in order to find graham crackers that are gluten free.

What is Graham Flour?

Graham crackers get their name from the flour used to make them, which is known as graham flour. Graham flour is made from wheat, which contains gluten. It was named after a minister named Sylvester Graham, who was a supporter of vegetarianism. He was known as a forerunner of the American health food movement.

Although graham crackers were originally made using graham flour, in the modern day, they are usually made using wheat or whole wheat flour, which is quite similar to graham flour. However, both the original and modern day versions of graham crackers are not always gluten free.

Gluten-Free Graham Cracker Brands

Even though graham crackers are not always gluten free, there are still some brands that make gluten free crackers, as well as other gluten free graham variation snacks. Unfortunately, many of the big name brands, such as Nabisco’s Honey Maid Graham Crackers, do not have a gluten free option, so you will have to be on the lookout for specific brands when shopping for gluten free graham crackers. 

5 Gluten-Free Graham Cracker Brands

1. Pamela’s Gluten Free Graham Style Crackers

All Pamela’s brand products are gluten free. Additionally, they have 3 different varieties of gluten free graham crackers: chocolate chip, cinnamon, and honey. They all come in the traditional square shape, but they also make smaller snack sized graham crackers. 

2. Kinnikinnick S’moreables Gluten Free Graham Crackers

In addition to being gluten free, Kinnikinnick’s S’moreables Graham Crackers are also soy, peanut, dairy, and nuts free. They are also vegan and kosher. If you need a graham cracker that is free of as many allergens as possible, this is the best brand to pick.

Kinnikinnick also has a graham animal crackers snack called KnniKriters, which works great as a snack on the go.

3. Schar Gluten Free Honeygrams

All Schar products are gluten free. They have 2 different flavors of graham crackers: chocolate or honey. Their graham crackers come in the traditional square shape and are excellent for making small s’mores or packing as a snack.

4. Nairn’s Gluten Free Oat Grahams

All Nairn products are gluten free. They have 3 different varieties of oat graham crackers to choose from: original, chocolate chip, and stem ginger. The original and stem ginger flavors are also suitable for vegans.

Nairn’s Gluten Free Oat Grahams are unique in this list, partially because they are made from oats, but also due to their shape. Instead of a traditional square, they come in an ovular pill shape. Although their shape is not typical for s’mores, this could make them a fun option for a sweet dip or chocolate fountain.

5. Annie’s Gluten Free Bunny Grahams

The popular snack brand, Annie’s, does not make traditional flat graham crackers that are gluten free, but they do have graham variation snacks that are gluten free, such as their Cocoa and Vanilla Bunny Grahams and their SnickerDoodle Bunny Grahams. 

These bite size snackable treats are a fun gluten free graham addition to your pantry. You may not be able to make s’mores out of the little bunny crackers, but you will have a sweet and gluten free snack.

Where You Can Buy Gluten-Free Graham Crackers

All of the 5 brands listed in this article can be found on their individual company websites. Additionally, they are all available to order on Amazon as well as other sites, such as iHerb, Thrive Market, and Vitacost.

However, if you prefer indoor shopping, you can find these brands at big name stores such as Walmart, Whole Foods, Target, Safeway, Albertsons, and more. Other stores that carry gluten free graham crackers include Fred Meyer’s, Sprouts, Publix, and more.

Many gluten free graham cracker brands have store locators. This can help you determine if a local store has gluten free graham crackers or if you will need to order them online and have them delivered to your home. You can always look up these brands on the websites of your local stores, or call and ask if they carry them.

Conclusion

There are multiple brands in many stores that have different flavors and varieties of graham crackers for those with gluten intolerance or those on a gluten free diet. Having diet restrictions does not mean you cannot still enjoy tasty and sweet treats, either as s’mores with your friends or as a quick snack on the go.

References

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}