Is Balsamic Glaze Gluten Free?

Is Balsamic Vinegar or Balsamic Glaze Gluten Free?

Balsamic Vinegar may be Gluten Free. 

There is a chance of gluten contamination as some makers of balsamic vinegar use a wheat-based paste to seal the casks that the vinegar is aged in.

Balsamic Glaze may be Gluten Free.

If balsamic glaze is made from a gluten free vinegar than it is gluten free. It is always a good idea to check the label and look for “Produced in a factory that also produces…”. If the label says gluten free, then you are good to go.

About Balsamic Glaze

Balsamic glaze is a sauce made from balsamic vinegar. It is a popular sauce for meats, such as pork and beef. It is also used in marinades and salad dressings. In Italian dishes it is sometimes used as a finisher.

Balsamic glaze is balsamic vinegar that has been reduced, or made thicker, by cooking of some of the liquid. This gives it a rich and sweet flavor. Balsamic Vinegar of Modena is the most common vinegar used in the making of Balsamic Glaze.

If you are worried about gluten contaminates, you can always make your own balsamic reduction at home. All you need is balsamic vinegar. You want to cook it in a pan over a low heat until it becomes thick. 

Some people add sugar, honey, or starch to speed up the cooking and thickening process. However, these additions are not needed. The balsamic vinegar will cook down nicely on its own and will be plenty sweet.

If you are cooking your own balsamic glaze, it should be refrigerated. It will last for about two weeks to a month in the fridge. If you are going to eat it or use it in the next 48 hours you can store it at room temperature. 

The most popular uses of balsamic glaze are:

  • Drizzled over a caprese salad

  • Drizzled over fresh fruit (such as strawberries)

  • Drizzled of cheese

  • As a dipping sauce or drizzle for prosciutto wrapped figs or cheese stuffed figs

  • Drizzled over salad

  • As a glaze or finisher for meat

Fun Ways to Use Balsamic Glaze

  • Mix it with fruit preserves and meat juices to make a meat sauce.

  • Mix it with mustard to make a savory meat sauce.

  • Marinate and roast vegetables with it.

  • Stir it into your Holiday Cranberry Sauce.

  • Mix it with Greek Yogurt and fresh fruit or drizzle it on top of your yogurt and granola parfait.

  • Drizzle it over ice cream and fresh fruit.

  • Drizzle some over your avocado.

  • Dip your grilled cheese sandwich in it.

  • Drizzle it over your tomato soup.

  • Use it as a glaze for your meatloaf.

  • Roast cranberries in balsamic glaze and serve on top of brie cheese with crackers.

Ingredients in Balsamic Glaze

The ingredients in Balsamic Glaze are fairly simple but do vary by brand.

Colavita Balsamic Glaze:

  • Balsamic vinegar

  • Wine vinegar (sometimes)

  • Concentrated and cooked grape must

  • Caramel color

  • Guar Gum and/or Xanthan Gum

Nonna Pia’s Classic Balsamic Glaze

  • Balsamic Vinegar

  • Sugar

365 by Whole Foods Balsamic Vinegar (Organic)

  • Organic Cooked Grape Must

  • Organic Balsamic Vinegar

  • Xanthan Gum

Nutritional Information for Balsamic Glaze

Nutritional Information for Balsamic Glaze will vary based on manufacturer and serving size.

Colavita Balsamic Glaze

Nonna Pia’s Balsamic Glaze

365 by Whole Foods Balsamic Glaze

(Organic)

Serving Size

1 tablespoon

2 teaspoons

1 tablespoon

Calories 

45

40

30

Total Fat

0 g

0 g

0 g

Cholesterol

0 mg

0 mg

0 mg

Sodium

10 mg

0 mg

5 mg

Total Carbohydrates

11 g

11 g

7 g

Sugars

10 g

7 g

5 g

Protein 

0 g

0.1 g

0 g

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}