Is Benadryl Gluten-Free?

Is Benadryl Gluten Free

Sometimes, adhering to a gluten-free lifestyle is more than just food and drink. It can be other products too, like medication. That probably didn’t even cross your mind, right? Other products other than food and drink can sometimes escape our thoughts. 

While most medications that you’re prescribed will typically be gluten-free, some medicines aren’t suitable for those with gluten intolerances or allergies. Especially if it’s an oral medication, the ingestion of this medication could lead to serious consequences. Therefore, if you have any intolerances or allergies, it’d be wise to discuss any medications with your doctor to get the all-clear. 

Benadryl is a branded antihistamine that’s often given out over-the-counter. Benadryl is often used to relieve allergies, seasonal allergies like hayfever, the common cold, and itchy skin caused by insect bites, hives, or any other reasons.

Benadryl does have the side effect of sleepiness and drowsiness and so it’s more likely to be more effective for hives, rather than seasonal allergies. It comes in many different forms and so the ingredients will vary depending on which type you’re prescribed. Benadryl comes in three formulas for adults, including Allergy Plus Congestion Ultratab tablets, Allergy Dye-Free Liquigels, and Allergy Ultratab tablets.

So can you use Benadryl if you have gluten intolerances or allergies? Is Benadryl gluten-free?

Yes. Well, only one of the products is considered gluten-free by the manufacturer.

Are All Variations Of Benadryl Gluten-Free?

According to Benadryl’s manufacturer, McNeil Consumer Healthcare, only the Benadryl Allergy Dye-Free Liquigels are suitable for those with gluten intolerances or allergies.

Therefore, if you do have allergies, you should steer clear of the Benadryl Allergy Plus Congestion Ultratab tablets and Allergy Ultratab tablets, as these would be unsafe for you to consume.


The ingredients for Benadryl Allergy Dye-Free Liquigels are:

Diphenhydramine HCI 25mg, purified water, glycerin, sorbitol, polyethylene glycol, and gelatin.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}