Is Colace Gluten Free?

Is the Stool Softener by Colace Gluten-Free?

Colace stool softeners are gluten free. While the company does say that all their products are gluten free, your best bet is the Colace Clear. It is completely free of dyes, stimulants, additives and other harsh ingredients.

However, many people with Celiac disease and severe gluten intolerances report using the other forms with great success. But, Colace Clear soft gel tablets seem to be the safest for those looking to be completely free of gluten.

About Colace

Colace is a medication you can buy over-the-counter to treat constipation. The components of the medication act as a stool softener to allow things to move through the gastrointestinal tract easier. It can take anywhere from one to three days to take effect.

This product is more effective for women than it is for men. Men should opt for something stronger to soften stools. Avoid giving it to children less than 12 years of age.

Adverse Reactions & Warnings

While Colace is popular for treating constipation, the active ingredient, Docusate Sodium, can have some adverse reactions with other medications. These include drugs that have phenolphthalein and mineral oil. When in doubt, contact your doctor.

Stop using this product if nausea or vomiting occur. Go to the doctor if symptoms persist and nothing moves after three days. Also, stop using Colace if you notice blood in your stool or if stomach cramping ensues. Do not consume alcohol with Colace stool softener.

Ingredients

The following list contains ingredients that are only for Colace Clear.

  • Inactive Ingredients: Sorbitol, Edible Dye-Free Ink, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Gelatin and PEG 400.
  • Active Ingredients: Docusate Sodium

Nutritional Information

Each soft gel tablet contains 50 mg of Docusate Sodium. Because this is a medication, there are no nutrition facts available.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}