Condiments are a great way to add some extra flavor to your favorite dishes without too much hassle. If you’re on a gluten-free diet, whether that’s through choice or because of intolerances or allergies, you should check every item.
Sometimes, it’s quite easy to forget to check items like condiments, but some do contain gluten, so it’s important to look at the ingredients. If it’s through choice then it’s not as vital as someone who could have a severe allergic reaction to it, but you’ll definitely still want to take a look.
Dijon mustard is quite versatile. Not only is it used as a condiment, but it’s also used in so many different recipes for additional flavor. So, we have to ask, is it safe for you to consume? Is Dijon mustard gluten-free?
Yes, typically, dijon mustard is gluten-free, although it may depend on the brand. With some products like condiments, it’s often produced in factories that don’t operate in allergen-safe ways. Therefore, there’s the risk of cross-contamination and therefore wouldn’t be suitable for someone with gluten intolerances or allergies.
Are All Brands of Dijon Mustard Gluten-Free?
Don’t worry though – we’ve compiled a list of brands that are totally safe for you to eat. All of these brands have declared that their facilities operate in a safe way for those with intolerances or allergies. So, if you choose any of the following brands, you’ll be in the all-clear.
- Koops’ Mustard
- Annie’s Naturals
- Boar’s Head
- Grey Poupon
As an example, we’re going to take a closer look at the ingredients and nutritional information for Heinz Dijon Mustard.
The ingredients for Heinz Dijon Mustard are:
Salt, Spices, Vinegar, Water, Sugar, White Wine, Mustard Seeds, Pectin, Citric Acid, Tartaric Acid.
The serving size for Heinz Dijon Mustard is 1 tsp (approx 4g). One serving contains 0g fat, 0g carbohydrates, 0.4g protein, and 10 calories.