Dessert lovers everywhere are fond of fudge for it’s sweetness and it’s firm but meltable quality. Fudge is also a favorite for many because it can be made in so many different flavors. Fudge is popular especially during the Christmas season, and it is a fun treat to share with family and friends on vacations or other special trips and occasions.
However, as with many treats, it is important to be aware of the ingredients, especially for those with dietary restrictions or intolerances to gluten. It’s also important to understand how the food is made and what goes into the process if you are someone who is gluten-free.
How Is Fudge Made?
As previously mentioned, it is crucial to understand how a product is made when exploring gluten-free options. The actual process for making fudge is very specific. Fudge is made by heating butter, milk, and butter. This mixture is heated together on the stove. Next, beating the mixture as it cools will create the smooth texture that fudge is known for.
What Ingredients Are In Fudge?
The most common ingredients in fudge recipes are milk, sugar, and butter. These ingredients are included in a basic fudge recipe. However, different types of fudge may include different or additional ingredients.
For example, chocolate fudge may sometimes have cocoa powder added, or peanut butter fudge will include peanut butter. In the same sense, any other flavors of fudge will have some kind of added ingredient to give it the flavor.
Read More >> Is Flan Gluten-Free?
Is Chocolate Fudge Gluten-Free?
Chocolate fudge is typically the most common type of fudge, and what people typically think of when discussing fudge. With that being said, let’s tackle the topic of whether or not chocolate fudge is gluten-free. It comes down to the process of making chocolate.
Most plain chocolate is gluten-free because it is made with dairy, sugar, and milk-powder. However, chocolate with additional flavors will contain add-ins that may contain gluten. Some examples of this may be found in cookies or chocolate bars. Overall, whether or not chocolate fudge is gluten-free depends on the type of chocolate that is included in the fudge.
Read More >> Is Ghirardelli Chocolate Gluten-Free? Here’s What to Know
Is Fudge Gluten-Free?
Now to answer the big question- is fudge gluten-free? What might surprise you is the answer is not straightforward. Fudge may or may not be gluten-free. Homemade fudge is almost always gluten-free. This is because the ingredients can be confirmed to be safe and without gluten added.
However, fudge that is not homemade or has other ingredients or supplemental items added such as cookie crumbs or peanut butter cannot make a gluten-free fudge. For fudge that is being purchased and not made at home, it’s important to be aware of the processes and best to ask questions before purchasing.
Some fudge that is produced in local shops and being purchased can be thickened with flour. In some places or shops, the fudge can be made on equipment that may also be shared with products that contain gluten, therefore caution should be taken when purchasing fudge. If buying fudge, be sure to examine labels closely and ask thorough questions if purchasing from local shops.
How Do I Know If Fudge Is Gluten-Free?
Since we have discussed that there is not a clear cut answer on whether or not fudge is gluten-free, it is important to discuss how to determine whether or not specific fudge is gluten-free. It really comes down to where you are getting the fudge from.
The most sure way to confirm that the fudge is gluten-free is to make it at home and to carefully select your own ingredients. This is the most secure way to ensure that the fudge you are eating is gluten-free. If you are receiving fudge as a gift or from a family member of friend, you can ask to review the recipe or the specific ingredients that were used.
If you are opting to purchase fudge, your best option is to purchase from a local shop. In this setting, you will most likely have a better chance to speak with the makers or owners about the ingredients in their fudge and the processes for making the fudge to determine any potential presence of gluten.
If you are purchasing from a larger shop or wholesale source, it will be much harder to determine ingredients and safe processes. While you can review ingredient labels and do additional research on the company, ingredients, and processes, it can still be difficult to confirm that the product is gluten-free. You can also look for a gluten-free label when buying at the grocery store.
What Are My Options For Gluten-Free Fudge?
Overall, if you can’t confirm that the fudge is gluten-free, it is most likely in your best interest to skip the treat to stay on the safe side. That doesn’t mean that you cannot indulge in this sweet and savory treat! You can explore additional options such as looking up some recipes to make your own fudge at home to confirm that the ingredients are safe and gluten-free.
Another option is to research local and smaller shops nearby that use gluten-free ingredients. You can call or visit shops to learn more about their processes for making fudge and their ingredients. Taking time to research options before going in to purchase can provide you with more confidence in your product and not having to question whether or not it is gluten-free when going to the store.
It is also important to mention that buying fudge at the grocery store is not necessarily out of the question. Look at ingredients closely, and look for gluten-free labels as well. You can also consider visiting grocery stores that stock mostly or mainly organic products, as they will be much more likely to carry gluten-free options when compared to mainstream stores.
All in all, fudge is a very sweet treat that no one should have to miss out on. There are many options for finding/making gluten-free fudge, so rest assured you won’t have to miss out.