Is Heinz Chili Sauce Gluten-Free?

Is Heinz Chili Sauce Gluten Free

Is Heinz Chili Sauce Gluten-Free?

Heinz Chili Sauce is safe for anyone with a severe gluten intolerance or celiac disease. So, yes, it’s gluten free. The ingredients are pure and natural; easy to read and understand. Nothing in the recipe contains anything with wheat, rye, barley or other gluten-rich grains. 

While it does contain distilled white vinegar, it is gluten free. However, those with severe cases may want to avoid using Heinz Chili Sauce. 

About Heinz Chili Sauce

Heinz Chili Sauce is a condiment with a kick. It has a superior taste that gives a burst of flavor to things like French fries, onion rings, hot dogs, burgers and other similar foods. This also makes a tasty marinade or cooking glaze for meatloaf or chicken.

Great for Sauces

It’s a great accompaniment to many sauces. Many people also love Heinz Chili Sauce as part of their cocktail sauce recipes, making it ideal for shrimp and other seafood. You can find a huge array of recipes that incorporate Heinz Chili Sauce as a feature. Cocktail meatballs and bacon-wrapped water chestnuts are just some dishes that benefit from a dash or two.

Appearance, Texture & Taste

It has a thick texture with whole chunks of tomato and onion. You can see the pepper seeds with small tomato slivers. The sharp vinegar flavor and scent gives Heinz Chili Sauce an authentic taste that features an aromatic palette. However, “chili” is a little misleading as this is not spicy.

Some people swear it has a bit of a horseradish kick to it, but there isn’t any included in the ingredients list provided. Heinz Chili Sauce has a robust scent with hints of onion amid a tangy vinegar-tomato base. It’s found almost everywhere and is readily available at most grocery stores and super markets.

Ingredients

The ingredients in Heinz Chili Sauce are fairly easy to understand. However, for consumer awareness, always take care when selecting items that contain high fructose corn syrup, general spice listings and “natural flavoring.”

Recent studies reveal how high fructose corn syrup can create severe health issues such as obesity, heart disease and diabetes. General spice listings and the mention of “natural flavoring,” although gluten free, has no indications of what that is in exact terms.

While Heinz prides itself on pure and natural ingredients, there’s no way to know what kind of spice or natural flavoring mixes into the formula. These labels come under the auspices of proprietary information so as not to give their recipes away to competitors.

  • Tomato Puree (water and tomato paste)
  • Distilled White Vinegar (gluten free)
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Salt
  • Corn Syrup
  • Onions
  • Spice
  • Garlic Powder
  • Natural Flavoring

Nutritional Information

Serving Size 

1 tbsp (17g)    

Calories 

20

Calories from Fat 

0  

Total Fat 

0g  

Saturated Fat 

0g  

Trans Fat 

0g  

Cholesterol 

0mg  

Sodium 

240 mg  

Total Carbohydrates 

4g  

Dietary Fiber 

0g  

Sugars 

3g  

Protein 

0g  

Vitamin D 

0mcg  

Calcium  

0mg  

Potassium 

0mg  

Vitamin A 

10mcg  

Vitamin C  

0 mcg  
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}