Is Hubba Bubba Gluten Free?

Is Hubba Bubba Gluten Free?

With the exception of one, all flavors of Hubba Bubba gum are gluten free. The Hubba Bubba Gummi Tape is the only Hubba Bubba product that contains wheat flour and fiber, which is made with gluten. 

Read on to learn more about the history of this fun and delicious gum and all of the company’s gluten free options.

History of Chewing Gum

Is Hubba Bubba Gluten Free?

Chewing gum is a soft substance that is designed to be chewed and not swallowed. Although the concept of chewing on substances traces as far back as civilizations can be traced, the modern concept of the product has been around since 1848.

The State of Main Pure Spruce Gum was the first commercial chewing gum sold by John Curtis of New England. The gum was a simple sap resin from a spruce tree that was chewed on. 

Read More >> The Best Gluten-Free Gum

Throughout the next 100 years the transition from tree resin to paraffin wax, to the sweet, stretchy, and chewy gum we are familiar with today evolved throughout the world. Chiclets and Wrigleys, two of the most popular early brands are still on shelves today.

Big Bubbles, No Troubles

Is Hubba Bubba Gluten Free?

The Hubba Bubba brand is a type of bubble gum that was first created in 1979 and named after an expression that World War II military personnel used “Hubba Hubba” to signify approval. 

The gum was created by the Wrigley Company and used the marketing slogan “Big Bubble, No Trouble” to convey that the gum was less sticky than its main competitor at the time, Bubblicious. Hubba Bubba, the company said, peeled off the skin easier after largely blown bubbles would burst.

The gum’s original flavor of the gum was not much different than other brands during the same time period. Today the company makes the gum in the following flavors:

  • Hawaiian Punch

  • Grape

  • Strawberry Watermelon

  • Apple

Other Hubba Bubba Products

Besides their original square gum packs with five pieces, Hubba Bubba also makes tape gum rolls, jug gum pieces, and squeeze pop liquid candy tubes. All of the company’s products with the exception of the tape gum are gluten free.

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, rye, and barley that acts as a glue to hold the grain together. It makes the product stretchy like pizza dough. For most people, consuming gluten is a good thing because it helps keep the heart, healthy. 

Read More >> Is Trident Gum Gluten-Free?

For other people, however, gluten sensitivities and allergies can range from mild to severe. Some can find it uncomfortable when consuming gluten, especially in large amounts, with a range of symptoms of bloating to nausea. Others can find their allergies leads to even more severe issues.

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that some people suffer from that does not allow them to consume gluten. Their bodies do not process gluten in typical ways leading to the disease. Autoimmune diseases cause the body’s immune system to attack healthy cells.

There is currently no cure for Celiac disease and the main treatment is to refrain from consuming gluten products. Symptoms of the disease can include

  • Nausea

  • Bloating

  • Constipation

  • Upset stomach

  • Muscle weakness

  • Fatigue

Alternatives to Hubba Bubba

Is Hubba Bubba Gluten Free?

You may find that, with a limited selection, the Hubba Bubba chewing gum does not produce the flavors of chewing gum that you are looking for. If this is the case, other brands and flavors produce gluten free gum as well.

Trident and Wrigley chewing gum products are both gluten free and come in a wide range of additional colors and flavors. If you are looking for a more specific flavor, these brands may be worth looking into. 

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}