After you’ve just prepared a meal, sometimes it’s nice to wash the savory down with something sweet afterward. Dessert time!
Fancying a sweet treat on a gluten-free diet can sometimes be a little tiresome. A lot of desserts do contain gluten so you must analyze the ingredients so you can tell exactly which ones are suitable for you.
Jell-O, manufactured by Kraft, is an instant pudding that can also be used as a pie filling. They’re known for their puddings, some of which are jellies. They’re perfect for that after-dinner treat and extremely yummy. So, is Jell-O instant pudding gluten-free?
Yes, it is. Jell-O instant pudding is completely safe to eat if you’ve got any gluten intolerances or allergies.
Are All Flavors of Jell-O Instant Pudding Gluten-Free?
No, not all flavors of Jell-O instant pudding are gluten-free. Although, most of them are.
There’s a wide range of flavors of Jell-O instant pudding and it’s important to highlight the differing ingredients if it affects the answer.
The following flavors of Jell-O instant pudding ARE gluten-free:
The only flavor that you need to look out for is the cheesecake flavor. This contains barley and therefore isn’t suitable for gluten intolerances or allergies.
The ingredients will vary depending on the flavor of instant pudding that you’ve chosen. The ingredients for the Jell-O instant pudding vanilla are:
Modified Food Starch, Sugar, Contains 2% or Less of Natural and Artificial Flavor, Tetrasodium Pyrophosphate and Disodium Phosphate, Artificial Color, BHA (Preservative), E110**, E102, Salt, Mono and Diglycerides.
** May cause hyperactivity in children.
Again, the nutritional information will likely depend on the flavor.
The serving size for Jell-O instant pudding is one cup (110g). One serving of Jell-O Vanilla Pudding contains 4.2g fat, 25g carbohydrates, 19g sugar, 1.6g protein, and 143 calories