Is Lightlife Tempeh Gluten Free?

Is Lightlife Tempeh Gluten Free

Is Lightlife’s Tempeh Gluten Free?

Lightlife’s Original Tempeh is gluten free and is only produced with a few simple ingredients. That being said, Lightlife does state that there is potential for cross contamination, as many of their other products do contain gluten. Therefore, those with a severe gluten allergy or celiac disease might not want to indulge. 

Lightlife also sells a smokey tempeh, which has more ingredients to add flavor. However, there are still no gluten ingredients in this variety. 

What Is Tempeh?

Tempeh has been around for centuries, and its roots began in Indonesia. Some may think tofu and tempeh are the same thing, but they are two different things, even though they are both plant based protein options made with soybeans. 

Tempeh is made from fermented soybeans, which are pushed together into strips or bricks and fermented for 18 hours. It’s a very versatile product that soaks up the flavor of any seasoning or sauce it’s cooked with. Tempeh can be cooked in numerous ways as a healthy, protein-rich accompaniment for just about any dish. 

Is Tempeh Usually Gluten Free?

If tempeh hasn’t been overly processed, it is naturally gluten free. However, there is potential for cross contamination depending on which brand or company is creating it. It’s essential to read the ingredients list of any tempeh you are considering to be sure, since it can come in numerous flavors, and is made by many brands. 

Some tempeh is also processed with grains that contain gluten. 

History Of Lightlife 

Lightlife is one of the most prominent brands in plant based food. They have been creating a variety of plant based food options that either replicate meat or replace the need for meat for over forty years. 

They also try to make their products with as little impact on the environment as possible, while also opting for fewer ingredients and additives. They are transparent about what they put in their food, and try to make their foods as healthful as possible. 

Lightlife was formerly known as Tempeh Works, and was actually the first company to start selling tempeh to mainstream consumers. They have since expanded their product line to include many more options, including one of the best selling vegetarian hot dogs. 

They also sell plant based chicken, beef, burgers, bacon, and much more. They have also done collaborations with fast food restaurants such as Kentucky Fried Chicken to help make fast food more accessible for vegetarians and vegans. 

What Is In Lightlife’s Tempeh?

In Lightlife’s Original Tempeh, the ingredients are: 

  • Cultured organic soybeans
  • Water
  • Organic Brown Rice

In Lightlife’s Smoky Tempeh, the ingredients are: 

  • Water
  • Cultured organic soybeans (organic soybeans, lactic acid from plant-based sources)
  • Organic tamari soy sauce (organic soybeans, salt, organic alcohol)
  • Organic cider vinegar
  • Organic cane sugar
  • Natural smoke flavor
  • Sea salt
  • Organic onion powder
  • Brown Rice
  • Beet powder
  • Organic spices
  • Xanthan Gum

Nutritional Information For Lightlife Tempeh

The following nutritional facts are for Lightlife’s Original Tempeh, for a serving size of half of the package: 

Calories 160
Fat 4.5 grams
Carbohydrates 12 grams
Fiber 6 grams
Sugar 0 grams
Protein 18 grams
Sodium 0 milligrams
Potassium 300 milligrams
Calcium 100 milligrams
Iron 2 milligrams

SOURCES: 

https://lightlife.com/en-ca/our-story/

https://lightlife.com/en-ca/product/original-tempeh/

https://lightlife.com/en-ca/product/smoky-tempeh-strips/

https://lightlife.com/en-ca/our-story/

https://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/tips-and-ideas/archive/get-know-tempeh

https://www.rachaelroehmholdt.com/is-tempeh-gluten-free/

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}