Is Manwich Gluten-Free?

Is Manwich 100% Gluten-Free?

Yes and no, the answer is a bit complex.

Manwich Might Be Gluten-Free

According to celiac.com, Manwich is lacking the ingredients that would contain gluten, but it is not specifically labeled as gluten free. Therefore, it is a product that shouldn’t contain gluten but has not been tested to verify that information. Anyone with celiac disease and serious gluten intolerance should always be cautious with products that are not specifically labeled as gluten free.

What is Manwich?

Manwich is the quick and easy canned solution for sloppy joe sauce created in the 1960s. The name comes from the combination of man and sandwich. Traditionally, Manwich was served with ground beef on a hamburger bun, but now Manwich also advertise using their sauce with numerous recipes, including slow cooker pulled chicken sandwiches, turkey sloppy joe cornbread bake, Manwich marinated beer can chicken, and sloppy joe mini pizzas, among others.

What is a traditional Sloppy Joe?

The sloppy joe is a sandwich that originated in the United States that usually consists of ground beef, onions, and seasoned tomato sauce on a hamburger bun. Sloppy Joes have been on the American dinnerplate since the 1940’s. They may be called by different names depending on where you are in the country and there is an undeniable controversy as to where and when the original sloppy joe came from, but regardless, it has remained a classic dish served in the home and in restaurants across the country to this day.

 Why do people love Manwich?

People love the recipe for the sloppy joe sauce canned for Manwich because it is sweet, yet still savory, full of delicious tomato flavor, and serves as a super quick way to have a nostalgic meal.

Who makes Manwich?

Manwich is produced by the ConAgra company, which manages iconic brands including Hunts, Earth Balance, Birds Eye, and Duncan Hines. The company currently has four flavors of Manwich that include the Original, Bold, Thick and Chunky, and Bourbon BBQ. Their famous slogan is “Make tonight a Manwich night!”

Why isn’t Manwich labeled as Gluten-Free if its ingredients don’t contain gluten?

ConAgra has a testing process that involves ensuring that the food contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten. The product will not get a label indicating gluten free unless it has gone through the entire testing process. The recipe, products from suppliers, and quality control procedures are all scrutinized during the process of adding a product to the Gluten-Free list. Currently ConAgra has Manwich in the “shouldn’t contain gluten” category because it hasn’t gone through the entire testing process yet.

The main ingredients of Manwich Original include:

Tomato Puree

Water

Tomato Paste

High Fructose Corn Syrup

Distilled Vinegar

Corn Syrup

 

There is less than 2% of the following in Manwich Original:

Salt

Spices

Sugar

Xanthan Gum

Carrot Fiber

Dried Garlic

Dried Green And Red Bell Peppers

Natural Flavors

Chili Pepper

Citric Acid

Guar Gum

 

 

Nutritional Information:

35

Calories

0

Sat Fat (g)

310

Sodium (mg)

6

Total Sugars (g)

Serving Size 1/4 cup (64g) – About 10 servings per container

Total Fat

0 g

0% Daily Value*

Saturated Fat

0 g

0%

Trans Fat

0 g

 

Cholesterol

0 mg

0%

Sodium

0310 mg

13%

Total Carbohydrate

8 g

3%

Dietary Fiber

1 g

4%

Total Sugars

6 g

 

Added Sugars

6 g

12%

Protein

< 1 g

 

Vitamin D

0 mcg

0%

Calcium

0 mg

0%

Iron

0.4 mg

2%

Potassium

150 mg

4%

*The % Daily Value tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet of 2,000 Calories a day.

 

 

 

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}