is mio gluten free

Is Mio Gluten-Free?

MiO is a gluten-free flavor enhancer that can make any beverage taste delicious! In addition to being gluten-free, this drink mix is also sugar-free. It consists of minimal ingredients and comes in dozens of creative flavors. 

All of Kraft Heinz MiO products are entirely gluten-free and they are constantly releasing new MiO flavors. 

About MiO

MiO is a liquid beverage flavor enhancer made by Kraft Heinz Company. There are a variety of delicious flavors, including Original, Energy, Vitamins, and Sport. The delicious flavor enhancer was made in 2011 by Kraft, to bring life to boring water without adding unnecessary calories.

Kraft’s MiO beverage flavor enhancer is easy to make, which is one of the reasons people love this drink mix so much. Open the cap, squeeze it into your water or other beverage, and then mix your beverage. This easy-to-squeeze bottle is user-friendly and prevents excess spillage, unlike powder drink mixes.

Many people love this beverage enhancer because it is good for people who have a type of gluten allergy. It is also a great source of electrolytes that does not overload you with sugar. Currently, the energy variant of MiO is not available in Canada. The Original, Sports, and Vitamins versions of this drink mix are still available.

Ingredients in MiO

MiO uses artificial sweeteners and artificial coloring to create a gluten-free and sugar-free beverage flavor enhancer. 

With four categories of MiO drink flavorings to choose from, each type has different ingredients. Below, the information is listed for each type of MiO. The ingredients are selected from the most popular flavor in each category.

Ingredients in MiO Original (Lemonade):

  • Water

  • Citric acid

  • Sodium citrate

  • Gum arabic

  • Sucralose (sweeter)

  • Less than 2% of natural flavor

  • Artificial food coloring

Ingredients in MiO Energy (Black Cherry):

  • Water 

  • Citric Acid

  • Caffeine

  • Guarana extract

  • Food coloring

  • Acesulfame potassium (sweeteners)

  • Artificial food coloring

Ingredients in MiO Vitamins (Orange Tangerine):

  • Water

  • Citric acid

  • Sodium citrate

  • Gum arabic

  • Sucralose (sweeter)

  • Artificial food coloring

Ingredients in MiO Sport (Berry Blast):

  • Water

  • Citric acid 

  • Salt

  • Potassium phosphate

  • Malic acid

  • Natural flavor

  • Acesulfame potassium (sweetener) 

  • Artificial food coloring

Nutritional Information in MiO

MiO is a calorie-free, gluten-free drink enhancer that gives every drink a splash of flavor. There are no nutritional benefits to drinking the original MiO, which means the only thing you get out of this product is the delicious flavors.

Sports, Energy, and Vitamins MiO have additional nutritional benefits, including Vitamin B12. The listed ingredients of each MiO type are listed below, using the most popular flavor of each category for reference.

Nutritional information in MiO Original (Lemonade):

  • No nutritional value

  • 1% sodium

Nutritional information in MiO Energy (Black Cherry):

  • Niacin

  • Vitamin B6

  • Vitamin B12

  • Caffeine

Nutritional information in MiO Vitamins (Orange Tangerine):

  • Vitamin B3

  • Vitamin B6

  • Vitamin B12

Nutritional information in MiO Sport (Berry Blast):

  • Sodium 3%

  • Electrolytes

  • Niacin

  • Vitamin B3

  • Vitamin B6

  • Vitamin B12

Because of potentially harmful ingredients and side effects, Kraft Heinz Company recommends speaking to your physician before drinking MiO while pregnant.

Sources: https://www.foodprocessing.com/vendors/products/2011/098/#:~:text=MiO%20is%20sugar%2Dfree%2C%20caffeine,calories%20per%208%2Doz%20serving.&text=It%20has%20no%20artificial%20flavors,per%208%2Doz%20serving.%22

https://www.myfoodandfamily.com/

https://www.makeitmio.com/

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}