Is MOD Pizza Gluten Free?

There are very few things more enjoyable in life than pizza; and getting to choose what you want on your very own fresh pizza, like you can at MOD Pizza, is even better! However, those with an allergy to gluten or a desire to leave it out of their diet might be wondering: is MOD pizza gluten free?

MOD Pizza has stated that while it cannot guarantee that any of it’s products are completely free of gluten contamination, it is able to provide crusts and ingredients that do not, on their own, contain gluten. Because MOD Pizzas are made on a serving line, it is still possible that these ingredients will come into contact with flour or dough that has gluten.

As fun as getting a pizza at this popular restaurant sounds, it is still a risky option. However, in this article we’ll make sure you know not only where gluten comes from and what ingredients at MOD Pizza to avoid, but some frequently asked questions about the same subject!

The Way To Tell If MOD Pizza Is Gluten Free

Since MOD Pizza prides itself on preparing the specific ingredients a customer chooses for their pizza, it can be hard to know for sure whether or not your pie will contain gluten. The best way to make an informed decision is to understand what gluten is and what ingredients MOD Pizza offers that may contain it.

What Is Gluten And Where Does It Come From?

The protein gluten is found in various types of food, but it’s origin is actually in different types of grain. While gluten can act like glue, holding foods together and doubling as a protein nutrient, it is sometimes inflammatory to those with a gluten allergy.

The following foods, which may be found at MOD Pizza, include gluten and should be avoided for those with a gluten-free allergy:

  • Wheat, Barley, Rye, Triticale – All of these grains can be used to make pizza dough and the flour that pizza dough is rolled in.
  • Croutons – Croutons are also full of flour, but also some malt, which contains gluten.
  • No Name Cake – One of MOD Pizza’s classic desserts contains wheat flour and therefore gluten.

What Are MOD Pizza’s Gluten Alternatives?

What can be called MOD Pizza’s greatest strength, which is the option to decide how your pizza is prepared on a serving line, is also it’s greatest weakness when it comes to being gluten-free. Gluten-filled flour and dough and even croutons can contaminate even the cleanest serving line at MOD pizza, making their gluten-free options a bit of a risk.

Although MOD pizza cannot claim that any of it’s pizzas will not be contaminated with gluten, they do attempt to offer some alternatives. 

The ingredients that MOD Pizza offers it’s customers which are gluten-free are:

  • A gluten-friendly crust – MOD makes these crusts with rice flower and potato starch, as well as potato flour, instead of using the wheat flour that contains gluten.
  • A cauliflower crust – The other gluten-free option, cauliflower crust, contains tapioca starch, rice starch, and rice flower, making it safe for those with an allergy to gluten and an allergy to milk!
  • Gluten-free sauces – MOD offers a garlic rub, standard marinara sauce, white sauce, olive oil, and even pesto. None of these contains gluten and all of them are delicious on pizza!
  • Gluten-free cheeses – Just like it’s variety in sauces, MOD’s variety in cheeses, including cheddar, feta, mozzarella, parmesan, and asiago, are all completely gluten-free on their own.
  • Gluten-free meat – According to their website, MOD’s meats, whether it be pepperoni, bacon, ground beef, sausage, or chicken, are all gluten-free.
  • Gluten-free veggies – Just like purchasing vegetables at the store, none of MOD’s veggies are prepared using wheat or flour, and are therefore technically gluten-free.

These pizza ingredients are common, but surprisingly free of gluten! Just remember, because of the way MOD pizza prepares it’s ingredients so close together, they are not responsible if your pizza does get contaminated with gluten after all.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are some frequently asked questions which relate to the subject, not only of MOD Pizza, but of gluten and gluten-free foods!

Is MOD Cauliflower Crust gluten-free?

Yes, technically, the cauliflower crust recipe at MOD pizza is free of gluten thanks to the flour and starch substitutes that the restaurant uses. However, the cauliflower crusts are prepared near to the regular crusts, which use wheat flour and may contaminate them with gluten.

What kind of flour does MOD Pizza use?

MOD pizza uses several different kinds of flour for it’s pizza crusts, including wheat flour, malt flour, potato flour, rice flour and barley flour. The wheat, barley, and malt varieties contain gluten, while the potato and rice flours do not.

What is MOD Pizza crust made of?

MOD Pizza’s standard crust contains many ingredients including wheat flour, water, yeast, sea salt, and many more. If the crust is the gluten-free variety, it will be made using potato and rice flour, as well as potato starch, to cut the gluten content. Meanwhile the cauliflower crust is made with cauliflower and dairy-free alternatives.

Is the gluten-free crust at MOD vegan?

Yes, while the gluten-free crust and the original crust at MOD are both free of milk and eggs, making them vegan recipes, the cauliflower crust cannot boast the same.

Does gluten-friendly mean gluten-free?

The term “gluten friendly” and the term “gluten-free” are not the same thing. The government-regulated term is gluten-free. Therefore, if you see a food product that is only labeled “gluten-friendly,” it is always a good idea to check the ingredients for yourself to determine whether or not the product is really safe. 

Is MOD Pizza safe for celiacs?

While MOD pizza is not considered absolutely safe for celiacs, this is only because they prepare their food on a serving line, meaning it is possible for their ingredients to be contaminated with gluten. Still, MOD Pizza does attempt to offer gluten-free alternatives for those with celiac disease, including their gluten-free and cauliflower crusts.

In Conclusion

In conclusion, MOD Pizza offers some gluten-free alternatives in their crust recipes, but because all of their food is prepared in a way that places ingredients close together, those with a gluten allergy purchase MOD’s products at their own risk. The cauliflower crust and gluten-free crust do not contain gluten, but the wheat flour and original crust they are prepared near might!

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}