Is Mole Sauce Gluten-Free?

Is mole sauce gluten-free?

Mole sauce can be gluten-free if you leave out gluten-based thickeners and choose the right chocolate. Mole sauce has minimal ingredients, making it a great candidate for being gluten-free. However, not all mole sauces are gluten-free. You must actively refrain from using gluten thickeners to make mole sauce gluten-free.

Normal ingredients in gluten mole sauce: 

  • Chiles or peppers

  • White chocolate or dark chocolate

  • Cumin and other spices

  • A gluten-based thickener

Gluten-Free Living says wheat-based flour is often used as a thickener in mole sauce, meaning it is not gluten-free. But you can exchange these thickeners from the mole sauce for ground corn or nut flour. However, people argue that this sauce does not taste the same way, and the consistency may become more liquidy without a gluten-based thickening agent.

Chocolate type is critical when making mole sauce, so you must be careful when eating mole sauce. Only eat mole sauces prepared with dark or white chocolate if you have celiac disease. These chocolates are gluten-free, but milk chocolate is not.

Is mole amarillo gluten-free?

Mole amarillo is gluten-free. According to Legal Nomads, mole Amarillo (yellow mole sauce) has no bread ingredients, making it safe for people with celiac disease. People can replace the wheat-based flour in the mole amarillo with cornflour. Cornflour is gluten-free and does not trigger gluten allergies, meaning it is safe to eat.

Normal ingredients included in mole amarillo include: 

  • Aji Amarillo pepper

  • Corn flour

  • Tomatillo

  • Tomato

  • Santa leaves

  • Saffron

  • Onion

  • Garlic

  • Annatto powder

  • Cinnamon

  • Clove

Is mole chichilo gluten-free?

Mole chichilo is gluten-free. Mole chichilo uses corn flour as a thickening agent, a gluten-free thickener that does not trigger celiac allergies in its natural state. According to Taste Atlas, chichilo moles have a more liquid consistency than other moles. The combination of ingredients makes it one of the most flavorful Oaxaca moles. 

Ingredients in mole chichilo include:

  • Ancho chiles

  • Tomato

  • Tomatillo

  • Garlic

  • Clove

  • Cumin

  • Stock

  • Peppercorn

  • Lemon juice

  • Corn flour

Is mole verde gluten-free?

Mole verde is a gluten-free sauce. Sometimes this sauce is called “green mole” or, more traditionally, “pipian.” Mole verde is a spicy mole sauce with a nutty flavor. You make mole verde by roasting several nuts and then simmering them together. Lemon is added to the sauce to create a more liquid consistency.

Ingredients in mole verde include:

  • Poblano peppers

  • Tlola serrano pepper

  • Coriander

  • Cumin

  • Kale

  • Garlic

  • Lemon juice

  • Sesame seeds

Is mole negro gluten-free?

Mole negro is gluten-free. This earthy mole sauce is a gluten-free sauce typically served over hundreds of unique Mexican dishes. This recipe has no breadcrumbs or other gluten-based ingredients. So, if you use dark chocolate, it is safe for gluten allergies. 

Ingredients in mole negro include:

  • Mulato chile

  • Dark chocolate 

  • Tomatillo

  • Onion

  • Garlic

  • Coriander

  • Cinnamon

Is mole blanco (Mole de Novia) gluten-free?

Mole blanco is gluten-free. Mole blanco (mole de novia) is a creamy, nutty mole sauce made from blended nuts and habanero peppers. There are no wheat ingredients in mole blanco. Many describe the flavor of mole blanco as mild, with a sweet aroma.

Ingredients in mole blanco include:

  • Habanero peppers

  • White chocolate

  • Almonds 

  • Pine nuts

  • Milk

  • Blonde raisins

  • Peanuts

  • Spanish almonds

  • Chicken broth 

  • Coconut oil

  • Onion

  • Garlic

Is mole coloradito gluten-free?

Mole coloradito is not gluten-free. The breadcrumbs inside mole coloradito contain breadcrumbs, which are full of gluten. Mole coloradito has a wide flavor profile, like smoky, tart, spicy, and sweet. It is one of the seven Oaxaca moles of Oaxaca. 

Common ingredients inside mole coloradito sauce are:

  • Ancho chiles

  • Hot peppers

  • Dark chocolate

  • Bread crumbs

  • Onion

  • Raisins 

  • Celery

  • Black peppercorn

  • Cumin

  • Sesame seeds

  • Mashed sweet plantains

  • Garlic

  • Tomato

  • Carrot

Is mole de queretaro gluten-free?

Mole de Queretaro is not gluten-free. The thickening agent in this mole includes wheat ingredients like bolillo and tortillas, which can be dangerous for people with celiac disease. These are wheat-based ingredients, and they can trigger gluten allergy reactions.

Ingredients in mole coloradito include:

  • Ancho pepper

  • Pasilla pepper

  • Bolillo

  • Tortilla

  • Peanuts

  • Onion

  • Walnuts

  • Almonds

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}