Is Not Your Father’s Root Beer A Gluten-Free Drink?
Not Your Father’s Root Beer is not gluten-free. It contains barley malt, which is a grain that contains gluten. A lot of beer contains barley, which gives it its hearty flavor. While it can be difficult to find gluten-free beer, it’s not impossible.
About Not Your Father’s Root Beer
Not Your Father’s Root Beer is a beverage that marries the bold flavor of root beer with the craftsmanship of craft beer. It’s a smooth drink with touches of vanilla and caramel flavors. It’s ideal for those who love the taste of root beer but are looking for a little kick as well.
It was originally crafted in Small Town Brewery, located in Illinois. After seeing very quick success, the two owners of the brewery, Tim Kovac and John Dopal, then partnered with Pabst to bring the root beer to more people. People love the taste of their favorite childhood soda transformed into an adult beverage.
The alcohol content has also changed since its inception. The alcohol content used to be higher at 19.5% ABV, but has since been lowered to 5.9% ABV. This change allows for a much smoother, sweet taste.
Why People Love Not Your Father’s Root Beer
Not Your Father’s Root Beer has been touted as one of the best craft beers. It has that nostalgic root beer flavor that many are used to growing up with. The alcohol does not change the flavor very much. There are also sweet notes in the root beer that make it an excellent choice to pair with dessert, or even meat and vegetable dishes.
The flavor is sweet, and the carbonation is present. It’s perfect for those who aren’t too keen on the taste of alcohol and how it can overwhelm the flavor of the drink. People who don’t typically love beer can enjoy the sweet taste of this beverage.
When Not Your Father’s Root Beer was first introduced to the local bar scene in Illinois, people were confused yet intrigued by the idea of a hard root beer. It caught on quickly, becoming a sensation for craft beer lovers, and the hype spread outside the bounds of the small town it was created in.
While the sad truth is Not Your Father’s Root Beer’s gluten-free status is nil, the good news is that it’s not filled with bad ingredients. In fact, the ingredients list is quite small:
There are a ton of aromatics and botanicals that give Not Your Father’s Root Beer its flavor, such as:
- Vanilla bean
- Sarsaparilla Bark
The following information is for 12 fluid ounces of Not Your Father’s Root Beer: