Ovaltine is not gluten-free.
Ovaltine’s main ingredient is malt extract, a sweet liquid with a treacle-like consistency derived from barley.
With barley being one of five main grains that contain gluten, Ovaltine is not gluten-free.
First developed in Bern, Switzerland, Ovaltine (or Ovomaltine as it was originally known) is a powdered milk flavoring product made by mixing malt extract, cocoa, and whey.
After beginning exportation to Britain in 1909, Ovaltine has grown from a small Swiss company into a globally recognized brand. Ovaltine is massively popular in the United Kingdom, United States and is so popular in Hong Kong that it is served in several fast-food chains.
Read More >> Are Starbucks Holiday Drinks Gluten-Free?
In its native home of Switzerland, Ovaltine still retains its brand recognition, and is now synonymous with skiing and snowboarding.
Ovaltine can be identified by its golden orange packaging and oval shape. It has a dark brown color and a consistency similar to that of cocoa powder. Ovaltine is fortified with essential vitamins and minerals, making it a healthier alternative to other powdered beverage flavorers. For this very reason, Ovaltine was originally marketed as a nutritional supplement for those that did not have easy access or afford fresh produce.
Ovaltine is made by dissolving a few teaspoons of powder into 200ml of warm milk.
Ovaltine is favored by many for its sweet flavor. Its malty flavor makes it a great alternative to hot chocolate and other warm beverages.
- Barley Malt Extract (73%)
- Milk Serum Concentrate
- Fat-Reduced Cocoa Powder (8%)
- Minerals (Calcium, Magnesium, Iron, Zinc)
- Rapeseed Oil
- Vitamins (C, E, Niacin, A, Pantothenic Acid, B12, B6, B2, B1, Folic Acid, Biotin)
Read More >> Are Splenda Sweeteners Gluten-Free?
|Nutritional information per 100g||Nutritional information per serving*|
|Energy kJ/Kcal||1567 / 370||805 / 192|
|*25g powder in 200ml semi skimmed milk|