Is Rice Bran Oil Gluten Free?

Is Rice Bran Oil Gluten-Free?

Yes, rice bran oil is gluten-free. Rice bran oil is made entirely from chaff of the rice grain. With rice being a gluten-free grain, rice bran oil is a gluten-free as well. 

About Rice Bran Oil

Rice bran oil is derived from the brown harder outer layer of the rice grain, otherwise referred to as chaff. It can be identified by its clear yellowish color and sightly nutty earthy flavor. Rive bran oil is liquid at room temperture.  

As an oil, rice bran oil is highly versatile. It is predominantly used as a cooking oil, thanks to its neutral taste. Its high smoking point of 232 Celcius makes it ideal for high-temperature cooking methods, including stir-frying, deep frying. 

With rice being a staple crop in Asia, rice bran oil is highly popular in the subcontinent of India and East Asia, including  Indonesia, Japan, Nepal, China, Bangladesh, and Malaysia. 

Rice bran oil comes with a number of health benefits. A single serving of rice bran oil (14ml) contains 29% of your daily recommended vitamin E, which is vital in helping support your immune system and beneficial to blood vessel health.

Studies have also shown evidence that it can help drastically lower levels of Low-Density Lipoproteins (LDL)/ bad cholesterol while also boosting High-Density Lipoproteins (HDL)/ good cholesterol. Rice bran oil has also been show to help lower blood pressure and mantain blood sugar levels. 

Derived from the chaff of the rice grain, rice bran oil is suitable for vegetarians and vegans. 


100% Rice bran oil 

Nutritonal Information 

Nutritonal Information per 100ml Nutritonal Information per serving (14ml)
Energy (kJ/kCal  3401 / 813 514 / 123
Fat 92g 13.8g
Saturated fat 21g 3.2g
Monounsaturates 39g 5.9
Polyunsaturates 32g 4.8
Carbohyrates 0g 0g
Sugars 0g 0g
Fibre 0g 0g
Protein 0g 0g
Salt 0g 0g

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}