Is Sapporo Gluten-Free?

Is Sapporo Gluten Free

Gluten intolerances and allergies can be extremely hard to deal with, especially when you have to prepare for more than just yourself. It’s not only ensuring that ingredients are double-checked, but you also have to operate in an allergen-safe way in your kitchen. With a busy lifestyle, it can sometimes be difficult to keep up with, right?

Then, there are the beverages. Not all beverages are gluten-free either. Typically, you’ll probably have bought these from the store, so it’s mainly a case of scanning the ingredients. 

Sapporo is a brand of beer that originated in Japan. From Japan to our shelves, Sapporo is the top-selling Asian beer brand in America and is a popular choice amongst many. It’s a perfect beverage to enjoy with friends or family, whether you’re at a BBQ, game night, or even just with your evening meal. So, we need to know, is Sapporo gluten-free?

No, unfortunately, Sapporo isn’t gluten-free, and would therefore be unsafe for you to consume. In fact, all of Sapporo’s products, including Sapporo Premium Beer, Sapporo Premium Light, Sapporo Premium Black, and Sapporo Reserve Beer, aren’t suitable for those with gluten intolerances or allergies. 

Despite Sapporo being a rice beer, which would be gluten-safe, it contains other ingredients that could be harmful to those with gluten intolerances or allergies.

We’ll look at Sapporo Premium Beer in a little more detail, including its ingredients and nutritional information to see exactly why Sapporo beer isn’t gluten-free.

Ingredients

The ingredients for Sapporo Premium Beer are:

Barley, Hops, Malted Barley, Water, contains Sulphur Dioxide.

Nutritional Information

The serving size for Sapporo Premium Beer is a 12oz can (approx 335ml). One serving contains 0g fat, 10.3g carbohydrates, 1.4g protein, and 140 calories.

As you can see, it contains barley, and unfortunately, for everyone following a gluten-free diet, this one’s off the table.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}