Is Sesame Gluten-Free?

Is Sesame Gluten Free

Does Sesame Contain Gluten?

Is sesame gluten-free? Yes, sesame is gluten-free. Sesame seeds do not contain any gluten that may be harmful to those with a gluten allergy.

About Sesame Seeds

Sesame seeds are a unique type of seed grown all over the world. Although they were first domesticated in the Indian subcontinent nearly 3,000 years ago, they can now be found across Africa and Asia. They are one of the oldest cultivated plants known to humankind.

Sesame seeds are used for a variety of different purposes. Americans commonly see sesame seeds sprinkled on top of bread or burger buns. Many people cooking using sesame oil, an oil derived from the seed. Additionally, sesame seeds are often added to dishes or even taken as a supplement.

Sesame seeds are known to be high in good fats and a good source of vitamins and protein. People use sesame seeds to target the following afflictions:

  • High blood pressure
  • High cholesterol
  • Diabetes
  • Heart conditions

This seed has a rich, nutty flavor and many people enjoy adding them to their Asian cuisine or salad dressings. People who are allergic to nuts may also have a sesame seed allergy, so it is recommended to talk to your doctor to see if you may be allergic to sesame before consuming seeds or oil from this plant.

Ingredients

Sesame seeds come from the sesame plant. When the plant flowers, the seeds are collected and quickly dried to avoid the development of mold or other types of dangerous growths. After this, the seeds are either sold raw or processed into a variety of different sesame-based foods. 

Sesame oil is produced by using seeds that are considered to be a strange shape or color. These seeds are pressed to produce an oil that is high in fatty acids. Pure sesame oil will not have any other additives beyond just sesame seeds.

People also make flour from sesame seeds. This can either be done by grinding the seeds at home in a food processor, or by purchasing the premade flour. Again, if it is pure sesame flour, it should only contain sesame seeds.

Nutritional Information

If you are interested in consuming sesame seeds, rest assured that they are very healthy and can add some interesting flavor and texture to any meal you may have.

The nutritional information in a tablespoon of sesame seeds is as follows:

Substance Amount (grams)
Protein 1.6 g
Total fat 4.47 g
Carbohydrates 2.1 g
Sugars 0.03 g
Fiber 1.06 g

Many people choose to eat sesame seeds because of their low sugar content and high concentration of healthy fats and protein.

In addition, sesame seeds contain amounts of several important vitamins including the following:

  • Iron
  • Calcium
  • Magnesium
  • Potassium

Adding just a small amount of sesame seeds to your daily diet can result in great health benefits. This ancient food is truly healthy and beyond adding some necessary nutrients to your daily diet, it can also be very flavorful and fun to use in various recipes from global cuisines.

Sources:

https://www.trulygoodfoods.com/blog/gluten-free-snacks/#:~:text=Sesame%20seeds%20and%20sunflower%20seeds,seasonings%20added%20to%20these%20nuts.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sesame

https://www.webmd.com/vitamins/ai/ingredientmono-1514/sesame

https://www.urmc.rochester.edu/encyclopedia/content.aspx?contenttypeid=76&contentid=12023-2

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}