Is Simply Lemonade Gluten Free?

Simply Lemonade, made by Minute Maid, is completely gluten free! Not only is this delicious drink gluten free, but it is also certified Kosher by the OU. Those with gluten sensitivities and allergies can enjoy the complete line of Simply Lemonade products.

Read on to learn more about what lemonade is, the history of the company, and other facts and important information about gluten. 

What is Lemonade?

Lemonade is an ancient lemon-flavored drink. Originally made in the 12th and 13th centuries with dates and honey, a company in Paris started creating their own drink in 1676 with sugar cane and no dates. 

Modern lemonade is made with fresh-squeezed lemons, water, and sugar. The drink is often enjoyed with ice in the hot, summer months as a refreshing way to cool down. Because this drink is so simple, there have been many different ways that this drink has been used.

Lemonade is one of the few recipes that has stayed relatively unchanged for thousands of years. It’s a popular base to add to alcoholic beverages, used in cooking, and even frozen into lemonade ice pops! The versatility of this drink is truly endless it would seem. 

History of Simply Lemonade

Simply Lemonade is a product from the Simply Orange fruit drink company based in Apopka, Florida. Founded in 2001 as a subsidiary of Minute Maid, the brand was created to cater to those looking for less sugar and added by-products found in traditional fruit drinks at the time. 

Simply Orange launched to much success with their flagship product, an all-natural, gluten free, GMO-free, Kosher certified orange juice. Reeling from the seemingly instant success, Simply Orange launched several other juices in rapid succession to appease those looking for more variety.

The Simply Orange company today has the following products in their “Simply” line:

  • Simply Orange

  • Simply Lemonade

  • Simply Grapefruit

  • Simply Limeade

  • Simply Fruit Punch

  • Simply Cranberry

  • Simply Tropical

  • Simply Peach

  • Simply Watermelon

  • Simply Smoothie

  • Simply Almond

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye that acts as a binder to make something doughy or sticky. The stretchiness in pizza dough when rolled is created from gluten.

For most people, consuming gluten has positive effects on the heart and blood systems. However, for others, their bodies have a hard time processing gluten and develop sensitivities and allergies.

In even fewer people with sensitivities and allergies, they can become so severe that they lead to a condition called Celiac disease.

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is an incurable, severe autoimmune disease that people can develop when their bodies cannot properly process consumed gluten in their diets. Symptoms of this disease can range from mild to severe and can be any of the following:

  • Nausea

  • Vomiting

  • Bloating

  • Abdominal pain

  • Muscle weakness

  • Weight loss

  • Constipation

  • Organ failure

While there is currently no cure for Celiac disease, with a proper diet and exercise, the condition can be managed. The easiest way to treat the disease is to refrain from consuming any foods or drinks that contain gluten, gluten dust, or gluten by-products.

Ingredients in Simply Lemonade

Found on the company’s website, the ingredients listed for Simply Lemonade are water, cane sugar, lemon juice, and natural flavors. Because none of these ingredients are made with gluten, this is completely safe for people with gluten allergies and sensitivities to consume. 

Certified Kosher

The Simply Lemonade product is also certified Kosher by the OU. Something that is certified Kosher means that is ‘acceptable or proper’ to those that observe Jewish traditions. 

A special stamp is given to consumable foods and drinks by a rabbinic agency to signify to followers of Judaism that the food is ok to eat.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}