Is Vitamin Water a Gluten-Free Product?
Are you wondering “is Vitamin Water gluten-free”? It’s a popular drink, so you’re sure to run into it! Luckily, Vitamin Water is gluten-free. No matter what flavor you choose to drink, it should never contain any gluten ingredients! Even their sugar-free drinks are free of all gluten products.
If you have celiac disease, these drinks are safe for you to have- and you can choose from tons of tastes! Many people appreciate the options that Vitamin Water has to offer.
About Vitamin Water
Vitamin Water is a drink brand whose parent company is Coca-Cola. The brand produces several different flavors, each with unique names and tastes. For example, some of their drinks have words such as “focus,” “refresh,” and “endurance.”
The main feature of the drinks is the added vitamins and minerals that they contain. The company also says that the colorations and flavors are natural, making this drink well-loved among the health community! If you want an alternative sports drink, this is another decent option.
You’ll still need to watch out for added sugars, however. Some flavors contain as much fructose as a can of Coca-Cola, which isn’t suitable for your body or teeth. Vitamin Water Zero contains way less sugar than the other beverages the company offers, making it the better choice.
Brief History of Vitamin Water
The beverage company came to be when J. Darius Bikoff was worried about catching a cold in 1996. He drank some mineral water with some Vitamin C as a home remedy- then came up with his idea for a vitamin-enhanced drink.
Many people remember Vitamin Water being most popular in the early 2000s. By 2002, it was trendy and a well-known brand within the United States. The company started as Glaceau before the Coca-Cola company bought it on May 25th, 2007.
Since each Vitamin Water flavor focuses on a different health benefit, you can expect their ingredient lists to vary slightly. Although, each drink should contain many of these ingredients:
- Deionized water or vapor distilled water
- Crystalline fructose
- Citric acid
- Vegetable juice for color
- Natural flavorings
- Ascorbic acid/ Vitamin C
- Vitamin E acetate
- Electrolyte (magnesium lactate and calcium lactate
- Zinc picolinate
- Various B Vitamins
The company says they don’t add artificial sweeteners to their beverages. Instead, the drinks contain Truvia and fructose for sweeteners, which occur naturally in fruits. Plus, you can see that there aren’t any gluten products in the above list!
There are several different flavors that this company offers. Each comes in varying bottle sizes and has different nutrition information overall. The following information is for the Power-C Dragonfruit flavor, in a 20 fluid ounce bottle, one of their most popular drinks:
|Servings per container||1|
|Serving size||1 bottle|
|Calories per serving||100|
Includes 27g Added Sugars
This flavor also contains some added vitamins and minerals, including:
- 150% antioxidant Vitamin C
- 100% Vitamins B5, B6, B12
- Chromium and 25mg taurine electrolytes