Is Zyrtec Gluten-Free?

Is Zyrtec Gluten-Free? 

Although Zyrtec isn’t exclusively labeled as Gluten-free, it doesn’t seem to have any gluten content. However, that’s not to say that in the process of creating it will definitely not touch gluten as it’s hard to guarantee that in a non-gluten-free facility. So the safest answer is this: use caution.

Although there is no label saying whether it does or does not have gluten (since medications don’t have to legally declare it), it’s best to err on the side of caution and instead talk to your regular doctor about whether you should take it or not. 

What is Zyrtec? 

Zyrtec is an over-the-counter allergy medication made up of Cetirizine Hcl tablets. Zyrtec is popular for people who suffer from seasonal allergies and offers all-day, non-drowsy relief from the common symptoms of seasonal allergies such as a runny nose, sneezing, or itching.

Zyrtec is usually known for its green labeling and packaging and as being the other option besides Claritin when it comes to allergy medication. Zyrtec can be easily found at most pharmacies and grocery stores. You can even order Zyrtec online through Amazon. 

Why would Zyrtec have gluten? 

Although the ingredients list is short and doesn’t include gluten, it cannot be 100% guaranteed that when in the process of making each tablet, that Zyrtec won’t come into contact with gluten, either on purpose or on accident. 

So Zyrtec shouldn’t have any gluten ingredients, but it’s not 100% certain. This is why it’s best to consult with your doctor before trying the medication, especially if you have severe gluten allergies and/or intolerances. 

About Zyrtec

Zyrtec is the brand name for the active drug ingredient Cetirizine and is an antihistamine used in treatment for allergic dermatitis, rhinitis, and urticaria that is generally taken by the mouth and bought over-the-counter.

This medication is bought to help relieve allergy symptoms such as watery eyes, running nose, sneezing, and itching. Although the medication is typically non-drowsy it has been known to make first-time users drowsy, so always take with caution.

Ingredients

The ingredients listed only contain the active drug ingredients and do not list whether the medication has gluten or not and it cannot guarantee 100% whether or not it does, as the processing of the drug may make it come into contact with gluten. 

In order to stay safe, always check in with your doctor before trying out new medication, especially since they aren’t legally bound to disclose to you whether or not they contain gluten. But in the meantime, here are the ingredients listed in Zyrtec:

Active Ingredients – Cetirizine HCl 10mg each tablet (antihistamine)

Non-Active Ingredients – Colloidal Silicon Dioxide, Croscarmellose sodium, hypromellose, lactose monohydrate, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, polyethylene glycol, titanium dioxide. 

Nutritional Information

Listed below is the nutritional value found within one 10mg tablet of Zyrtec (general):

Calories – 1

Carbs – 0g 

Fat – 0g

Protein – 0g

As expected, you don’t find much nutritional value for a tablet of allergy medication. 

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}