Some versions of Ragu spaghetti sauce are in fact gluten-free. Some variations of the spaghetti sauce, however, are not labeled gluten-free. With over 18 different types of spaghetti sauce to choose from, you’re sure to find a gluten-free version you’ll love.
Read on to learn more about the history of Ragu and their current gluten-free spaghetti sauce options.
History of Ragu
Ragu was founded in Rochester, New York by Assunta Cantisano and her husband Giovanni in 1937. After emigrating from Naples Italy in 1914, the pair set up the Ragu Packaging Company. The two made the sauce in their basement and sold it on their front porch.
Read More >> Things You Must Know About Gluten-Free Spaghetti
By 1946 word had gotten around about the Ragu spaghetti sauce and business was booming for the Cantisano’s. So much so that they were forced to move from selling sauce on their porch to a large production plant on the outskirts of Rochester.
In the mid-1980s the Cantisano family sold the Ragu line to Unilever who continues production of the Ragu line of products today. In 1998 the company added alfredo, cheese, and pizza sauces to their brand.
While almost all of Ragu’s current spaghetti sauce varieties are gluten-free, there are a few types that contain barley, a form of gluten. The “Mama’s Garden” and “Parmesean & Romano” are currently the only two sauces that contain this ingredient.
Read More >> Is Rotini Gluten-Free?
The complete line of spaghetti sauces that contain no gluten from Ragu are
- Simply Sauces: Roasted Garlic
- Simply Sauces: Chunky Garden Vegetable
- Simply Sauces: Chunky Marinara
- Simply Sauces: Traditional
- Old World Style: Mushroom
- Old World Style: Meat
- Old World Style: Marinara
- Old World Style: Traditional
- Chunky: Super Chunky Mushroom
- Chunky: Mushroom & Green Pepper
- Chunky: Tomato, Garlic & Onion
- Chunky: Garden Combination
- Chunky: Sauteed Onion & Garlic