Consider the following situation: you’ve had a long and stressful week at work, you’re anxious and exhausted, and what you really want is a platter of warm, home cooked comfort food. However, it’s possible that you’ve been on a health kick lately. For whatever reason, you may be attempting to eliminate gluten from your diet, or you may have never included it in your diet at all, owing to medical considerations resulting from something like celiac disease.
You deserve a peaceful baking session and a nice little treat over the weekend after your hard work, and baking powder is there to assist you in that endeavor. The only question you are left with is baking powder gluten-free? After all, you want to enjoy your treat, not instantly regret it.
What Is Baking Powder?
Baking powder, which is sometimes mistaken for baking soda, is a dry chemical leavening ingredient that is used to aid in the rising of baked products. If leaveners are not used in baking, baked items will turn out hard and flat and, more than likely will be unappealing to taste.
Carbon dioxide is released into your batter and dough by the baking powder, resulting in small bubbles in the mixture that help the mixture rise when it is cooked. These air bubbles are responsible for the light and fluffy texture that we all know and love in muffins, bread, cakes, and other sorts of baked products.
Baking powder is customarily made up of a combination of an acid (such as cream of tartar), starch to pull moisture from the air, and baking soda. The starch used in baking powder is either potato starch or ordinary cornstarch these days, both of which are gluten-free alternatives to wheat flour.
As a result, the vast majority of baking powder is gluten-free. There have been instances in which this has not been the case, and there are several things that health-conscious home bakers should keep an eye out for when purchasing their baking powder.
Read More >> Is Cocoa Powder Gluten-Free?
Is Baking Powder Gluten-Free?
The good news is that baking powder is naturally gluten-free due to the absence of wheat, rye, barley, or triticale, the four types of grains known to contain protein. However, certain companies may add starch to commercial items to guard against chemical reactions that occur early in the storage process, and this starch is not always free of gluten in this case.
Why Gluten Is Sometimes Found in Baking Powder
When it comes to commercial baking powder goods, humid storage conditions can be problematic since the moisture might cause a chemical reaction to occur before it should. The baking powder becomes unusable when a consumer later purchases it when this happens.
Some producers use a kind of starch to prevent this from happening. These days, it’s usually cornstarch or potato starch, which ensures the food is still gluten-free despite the addition of these ingredients. Manufacturers have, in the past, frequently added wheat starch, which is not gluten-free, to their products.
It is possible that some brands of baking powder in nations other than the United States, such as the United Kingdom, may still contain wheat starch. As a result, it is critical to carefully read labels and double-check the ingredient list before purchasing.
Understanding How to Use Baking Powder in Gluten-Free Recipes
When it comes to the leavening process, gluten-free recipes sometimes require a little additional assistance because the usual gluten substitutes are not as elastic as ordinary gluten. A single-acting and a double-acting baking powder are the two types of baking powder available. Double-acting baking powder is the way to go when it comes to gluten-free baking.
But there is one caveat: double-acting baking powder frequently contains sodium aluminum sulfate (SAS), which can lend a metallic flavor to baked goods, especially when excess baking powder is used, as in gluten-free baking recipes. To prevent this flavor, look for goods that are specially labeled as “aluminum-free.”
What Is Single Acting Baking Powder?
When single-acting baking powder is used with moist components that include an acid, the chemical reaction will occur immediately. This sort of batter should be baked right away and should not be left out unsupervised for an extended amount of time, as it will become hard and crumbly.
What Is Double-Acting Baking Powder?
When double-acting baking powder is added with the wet ingredients in your recipe, it will begin to chemically react with the other components. During the baking process, the product will include an acid known as a “high heat” acid, which will be activated by the heat produced by the baking process. This implies that it passes through a second chemical reaction when baking, resulting in a lighter overall texture.
Read More >> Is Arm and Hammer Baking Soda Gluten-Free?
What Brands of Baking Powder Are Safe for People with Celiac’s?
We receive a lot of inquiries concerning baking powder. More than a few people have inquired as to whether baking powder contains gluten. The easy answer is that baking powder does not contain any gluten.
According to Wikipedia, the majority of baking powders are composed of a carbonate or bicarbonate compound and a weak acid compound. An additive such as cornstarch prevents the base and acid from reacting too soon after they have been mixed. Baking powder is generally used to enhance the volume of baked items while also lightening the texture of the finished product.
Natural baking powder does not contain any gluten and may thus be used in gluten-free baking recipes. Here is a short list of baking powder brands that are labeled gluten-free:
- Royal
- Argo
- Calumet
- Bob’s Red Mill
- Dr. Oetker
- Clabber Girl
- Rumford
- Gefen
Baking powder is gluten-free and suitable for use by persons who have celiac disease in virtually all circumstances. Just always make sure you read the ingredients and stay away from anything that contains gluten.
How to Avoid Cross-Contamination When Baking Gluten-Free
Even a minuscule particle of gluten can provoke a reaction in persons who have coeliac disease, a severe type of non-coeliac gluten sensitivity (NCGS), or a severe allergy. They could get very unwell as a result of their reaction.
The technical term for this is cross-contamination, but you’ll commonly hear individuals refer to themselves as having been ‘glutened,’ which is a cutesy term for a wide range of unpleasant responses. But don’t be concerned!
When it comes to reducing the danger of cross-contamination in your own kitchen, there are clearly some safeguards you can take.
- Check all of your ingredients carefully. Especially flours that are supposed to be gluten-free and other floury ingredients like xanthan gum and baking powder. Although they are frequently used in gluten-free baking, not all brands of these goods are 100 percent free from cross-contamination, which can occur during processing. Finding the crossed-grain sign, which certifies that items “are gluten-free and acceptable for persons with celiac disease,” is the most reliable approach to ensure that these products are gluten-free.
- Make use of a new pack of butter and other common items. Butter is one baking component that is extremely likely to be contaminated by other ingredients during the baking process. The same thing holds true for baking powder and other common ingredients, as measuring utensils can inadvertently spread gluten to gluten-free products.
- Separate gluten-free products from other products. We’ve all seen the white puff of flour that appears when a hefty paper bag is placed on the ground. When you transfer flours in and out of a cabinet, it is quite simple for them to spill or puff out of their containers. The possibility of contamination in the closet can be minimized by storing gluten-containing products in a different cupboard from gluten-free ones.
How to Make Your Own Baking Powder
If you are unable to get a baking powder that is guaranteed to be gluten-free, or if you are genuinely concerned about cross-contamination, you may manufacture your own baking powder using only three ingredients: Baking soda (one teaspoon), cream of tartar (two teaspoons), and cornstarch (one teaspoon). One tablespoon of gluten-free baking powder will be produced as a result of this.
For every cup of flour that is used in a recipe, approximately one teaspoon of baking powder is called for. As a result, feel free to increase the quantity of baking powder in the recipe to meet your needs.
Because the cornstarch aids in the stability of the combination, all you need to do now is store the baking powder in an airtight glass or Tupperware container in your cabinet or pantry (or really any cold, dry location) for future baking needs. Just write down the date you made your baking powder and double-check that it hasn’t expired before using it again if you haven’t used it in a long time.
Add around one teaspoon of your own baking powder to approximately a third of a cup of hot water. If the water does not bubble and fizz when you add the baking powder, you will know that the baking powder has expired. At that point, you’ll have to toss everything away and start again with a new batch.