There are countless foods that contain gluten, and many of those common foods are getting gluten-free variants to appeal to a wider option. One common food is chicken, but is chicken gluten-free?
Chicken does not contain any gluten when it’s natural because meat is naturally gluten-free. However, there are variants that have additional seasonings and ingredients that include gluten. Regardless of chicken being naturally gluten-free, you should still check the label to ensure it’s a natural chicken that hasn’t been altered to contain gluten.
The rest of this article will cover what type of chicken contains gluten, where to buy gluten-free chicken, what to eat with gluten-free chicken, and how to avoid meat with gluten in it.
What Type Of Chicken Contains Gluten
Although chicken is naturally gluten-free, there are plenty of variants that combine other ingredients to add gluten to it. If you’re buying fresh chicken, you don’t have to worry about this since it’s fresh and natural. Packaged chicken is what you need to look out for.
The most common type of chicken that contains gluten is fried chicken. Although a beloved dish, fried chicken is put in flour that contains gluten, therefore making it a product with gluten. Fried chicken is the main chicken type you’ll want to avoid.
Along with that, there are plenty of restaurants that put certain spices and seasonings on their chicken to make it flavorful. This helps make the chicken more unique, but they end up being tainted with gluten.
Believe it or not, there are cases where common spices like curry powder, paprika, and cinnamon contain gluten. The reason why is because flour can be added to them to prevent caking. So, before you order chicken, make sure you ask if there’s gluten in it.
Read More >> Is Chicken Broth Gluten-Free?
Where To Buy Gluten-Free Chicken
It’s difficult to find gluten-free chicken in places like restaurants since they add so many seasonings to the meat that it becomes full of gluten. However, you can avoid getting chicken with gluten in it by going to grocery stores and looking online.
When you go to a grocery store, look for the fresh chicken rather than the ones that are packaged and filled with other ingredients. Look for natural chicken, that way you can avoid other substances inside the meat that could contaminate it.
Or, if going out doesn’t appeal to you, you can order it online. As unbelievable as that may sound, you can actually find gluten-free chicken online. Even sites like Amazon have gluten-free options.
You can combine both of these options, if you’d like. Get the chicken from the grocery store, then order ingredients online to add to the dish. For example, buy gluten-free breading to put on the chicken so you can fry it without the worry of gluten.
What To Eat With Gluten-Free Chicken
The best way to spice up your meals (other than with actual spice) is to use side dishes to compliment your main course. Since you’re having gluten-free chicken, you should get some gluten-free side dishes you can make yourself or order online.
One simple and cheap side dish you can make is wild rice. Wild rice is a popular choice that you can make in only a few minutes. If you want to add more to it, you can mix some of your favorite vegetables in as well. Try peas or carrots, they go really well with chicken.
Staying on the topic of veggies, you can also roast your favorite vegetables, like asparagus or brussel sprouts. If you’re looking for something more adventurous, try gluten-free rolls. If you want fried food but want to be healthy, try making yourself some air fried potato wedges.
Read More >> Gluten-Free Barbecue Chicken Recipe
How To Avoid Meat With Gluten In It
Whether you can’t have gluten or just want to live a gluten-free lifestyle, knowing how to avoid meats with gluten in them is crucial. The best way to go is to ask. Whenever you are in doubt, ask a worker about the gluten contents. If they don’t know, they’ll find someone who will so they can keep you safe.
If you’re at a grocery store or restaurant, ask the seller or waitress to tell you about the gluten contents. However, if you don’t feel up to asking them, you can either avoid meat altogether, or look at the labels on the package or menu.
Nowadays, restaurants have added labels to show the customers which foods are gluten-free (commonly marked with a GF symbol) and vegetarian (commonly marked with a leaf or V symbol). Look for those marks to determine if the item is gluten-free.
At grocery stores, you can check the ingredients list to look for ingredients that have gluten. Like restaurants, most grocery store products have labels on them saying that the product is gluten-free.