Having gluten intolerances or allergies has a huge impact on what you eat. While others can freely pick what they want off the shelf, you have to take the time to read the labels and figure out whether it’s suitable for you or not. 

We’re here to eliminate some of that stress by outlining everything for you. 

Brown sugar is used in so many different recipes, whether that’s sweet or savory. Baking and cooking with gluten intolerances or allergies can also be quite a long process. You’ll have to check that each ingredient you’re using in your recipe is gluten-free. So, is brown sugar gluten-free?

Well, we’re pleased to say that it is! Brown sugar comes from sugar cane, rather than wheat or gluten-containing grains. The brown color is due to the molasses. Overall, this all-natural product doesn’t contain any gluten. 

Is All Brown Sugar Gluten-Free?

Depending on which brand you buy, the brown sugar packaging may not be labeled as gluten-free. But, don’t worry! All brown sugar is completely safe for anyone with gluten intolerances or allergies to consume. 

In the home, cross-contamination can be sometimes easily forgotten about. If you’ve got gluten intolerances or allergies, it’s important to be wary of what exactly you’re using. If you’ve just used a utensil for a product containing gluten, or even the container that it’s in, 

you need to know the risk of gluten traces. To prevent cross-contamination,  thoroughly wash your hands and the utensil/container before diving into the sugar contents.

Nutritional Information

The nutritional information may vary depending on which brand of brown sugar you use. Each serving size is estimated at 100g. 

The nutritional information for most brown sugars contains 0g protein, 0g fat, 97.3g carb, and 377 calories!

Now, you can enjoy your favorite recipes without any worry!

About the Author

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}