Is Honey Gluten-Free?

Is Honey Gluten-Free?

Honey is a naturally gluten-free product and thus is safe for consumption by those who have an allergy or sensitivity to gluten. If there is a risk of gluten contamination, a label should be present to indicate this; otherwise, honey should not contain any gluten.

The purest form of honey in its raw state is 100% gluten-free. If honey is packaged in a facility that also packages and produces items with gluten, there may the chance of cross contamination. There may also be some flavored honeys that contain gluten as part of the flavoring.

In this article, we will review why honey is considered gluten-free as well as known brands of certified gluten-free honey. Additionally, you will learn some reasons why honey might not be gluten-free and what other gluten-free foods pair well with honey.

Why Is Honey Gluten-Free?

Is Honey Gluten-Free?

Raw honey is a naturally gluten-free food made by bees. When bees gather the nectar from flowers, they deposit it into the combs of their hives and fan it with their wings. Eventually, the water inside the nectar evaporates and all that is left is the sugary sweet liquid we call.

All honey really is is flower sugar. On the other hand, gluten is a protein derived from wheat. While wheat does produce flowers, they are not the kind of flowers that bees will collect nectar from. Most branded and labeled honey that is sold in stores is raw honey that has nothing added or taken away.

If you need to use a sweetener that is guaranteed not to contain gluten, then honey is your best option because it is natural, contains antioxidant and antibacterial properties, and should not have any of the wheat produced protein that can make those with certain gastrointestinal conditions such as celiac disease and ulcerative colitis sick.

Read More >> Is Tempura Gluten-Free?

What Brands of Honey Are Gluten-Free?

Is Honey Gluten-Free?

Most brands of honey are gluten-free even if the label does not say so. However, there is always the chance that a certain brand may in fact contain gluten if it is mixed with other ingredients or processed in a facility with products that do contain gluten. If you need to be absolutely sure your honey does not contain gluten, check out some of these brands.

Sioux Honey, GloryBee, and Cox’s Honey all have raw clover honey that is labeled gluten-free and approved by those who have celiac disease. Other brands of honey made from various wildflower nectar that are also gluten-free include Desert Creek Honey, Happy Belly, Nature Nate’s, TJO Bees, L. R. Rice, Manukora, Wedderspoon, Kiva Manuka Honey, and Steens.

Many other brands of honey are considered gluten-free as well and you can find them in some of your local grocery stores or even online. Check out Capilano, Bee Harmony, Mike’s Hot Honey, Gunter’s, and Local Fischer’s for more great gluten-free honey options.

Of course, your local farmer’s market may have honey made by bees close to your home. While there may not be a gluten-free label on these, they are most likely made without gluten. If you are not sure, all you need to do is ask the manufacturer is the honey maker and they can tell you with certainty whether or not to expect gluten in your honey.

Why Might Honey Contain Gluten?

Is Honey Gluten-Free?

Although natural raw honey has no gluten in it, there is always the possibility that honey could contain traces of gluten if it is packaged in the facility as products that are made with gluten. If this is the case, the label will most likely reflect that possibility so that consumers are aware of the risk of contamination.

Additionally, there are some flavored kinds of honey that may have additives containing gluten. Honey is a popular additive to dips and dressings such as honey mustard as well. Although the honey portion of these condiments should not contain gluten, there may be other ingredients in the flavoring that do.

If you are ever unsure if your honey contains gluten, look at the ingredients label. Additionally, honey that has a risk of cross contamination with gluten should be labeled as such. You can also get your honey tested or call the manufacturer if there is any question as to the nature of your honey’s ingredients.

Read More >> Are Pickles Gluten-Free?

What Other Gluten-Free Foods Does Honey Go With?

Is Honey Gluten-Free?

Honey makes a great additive to any gluten-free dish whether it be salads, entrees, or desserts. Honey can be an excellent sweetener substitute for baking. It can be drizzled over a gluten bed of greens or added into a marinade for cooking meat.

There are many manufactured products that contain and are flavored with honey that are also gluten-free. Kind makes granola bars with oats and honey that are gluten-free and the breakfast cereals Chex and Cheerios each have a Honey Nut flavored version that is certified gluten-free.

Is Honey Gluten-Free?

You don’t even have to be that fancy when it comes to consuming honey though. Drizzle some honey over apple slices or add a tablespoon of honey to your afternoon tea. There are many gluten-free ways to enjoy this naturally gluten-free delight. Honey is one of nature’s sweetest products that are the perfect staple for those with gluten intolerance or allergy.


Is Honey Gluten-Free?

Raw honey is a naturally gluten-free product. It is made from the nectar of flowers collected and processed by bees. It is essentially a sugary syrup that has no affiliation with wheat. Some honey may contain gluten if it is processed in the same facility as other products with gluten or if flavorings with gluten are added to it.

However, honey is the perfect sweetener for those who suffer from celiac disease or other gluten intolerant gastrointestinal issues. Many foods pair well with honey and there are also a plethora of manufactured products with honey that are gluten-free.

No matter what brand of honey you buy, it will most likely be delicious and gluten-free.


Is Honey Gluten-Free? | Healthline

Top Brands of Gluten-Free Honey | Celiac

Is Honey Gluten Free? Honey Info And Facts Inside | GlutenFreeHeroes

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}