Is Listerine Gluten-Free?

Is Listerine Gluten Free

Is Listerine Gluten-Free?

Listerine might be gluten free. Many people have inquired to the company directly about whether their products are safe for those suffering from celiac or other similar intolerances. The company doesn’t test for gluten and can’t certify them as being gluten free.

However, there are no ingredients that outright contain gluten-prone grains; they just can’t ensure that the manufacturers of those ingredients don’t use grain-free or gluten-free components. They can neither guarantee the products to be gluten free nor can they say with any certainty that there wasn’t cross contamination with gluten.

That said, there are many people who use the original formula that are severely sensitive and don’t experience a reaction. However, people with celiac disease report mixed results.

About Listerine

Listerine is a trusted mouthwash brand that has helped people to maintain clean and healthy mouths for decades. They come recommended by the ADA (American Dental Association) and their products kill 99.9% of the germs that cause bad breath.

First produced in 1879 by Dr. Joseph Lawrence, the forerunner of the famous mouthwash was originally a surgery antiseptic. The product takes its name after Lister, the first English doctor and surgeon to perform an operation with a pulverized antiseptic in 1896.


The following list of ingredients is what is often in many Listerine products. While all the constituents check out as being gluten free, severe sensitivities and those with celiac disease should avoid them.

When in doubt, don’t use Listerine. This is mostly due to the flavorings. There is no way to know with any amount of certainty what the ingredients of them are.

Ingredients of Original Formula Listerine

While the list here indicates the ingredients of the original formula, many of these are part of other Listerine products too.

  • Alcohol (26.9%)
  • Eucalyptol 0.092%
  • Menthol 0.042%
  • Methyl Salicylate 0.060%
  • Thymol 0.064%
  • Water
  • Benzoic Acid
  • Poloxamer 407
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Caramel (for flavor and color)

Other Possible Ingredients Depending on the Product

It’s advisable to thoroughly read the ingredients on various individual Listerine products.

  • Sorbitol
  • Propylene Glycol
  • Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
  • Zinc Chloride
  • Sodium Saccharin
  • Sodium Fluoride
  • Sucralose
  • Stevia Rebaudiana Leaf Extract
  • Flavorings
  • Hydrogen Peroxide
  • Artificial Coloring Dyes
  • Essential Oils

Nutritional Information

Because Listerine is a dental product intended for oral use, there is no nutritional information available. Under no circumstances should anyone swallow or ingest any version or variety of Listerine products. If nausea or vomiting occurs after swallowing a considerable amount, seek out immediate medical attention.

That said, it’s important to note that Listerine’s ingredients have come under fire in recent years for bringing on a host of health conditions. Diabetes and hypoglycemia are two such concerns. Also, sodium fluoride that comprises some of Listerine’s products can present certain dangers like tooth yellowing, reduced brain function and fluoride poisoning.

Also, keep in mind that the alcohol contained within many of Listerine’s products will kill the good bacteria in the mouth. This can lead to lowered immunity and stripping enamel from teeth.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}