Is Pectin Gluten-Free?

Is Pectin Gluten Free

If you have to follow certain diets in correspondence to your allergies, finding out what you can and can’t consume can be long and tiresome. Every time you pick up a product from the shelf, you’ll have to intensely look at the ingredients list to see whether or not it’s suitable. 

While some products are clearly labeled gluten-free, there are a lot of products that are suitable but aren’t labeled so, which makes things super difficult, right?

The more you get used to searching for ingredients, the easier it becomes. That is until you come across an ingredient that you’ve never heard of before. Then you’re a little more stuck.

So many products have extra preservatives added for a variety of different reasons and often, they’ll have obscure names. So, the best thing to do is do your research and ensure that everything you’re eating is 100% safe for you to consume. 

Pectin is a natural gelling agent that’s often used in products such as jam and jelly. You might also find it on the ingredient lists of yogurts and milk-based drinks too. Pectin is a fiber that can be found in fruits, including plums, apples, and the peel of citrus fruits. It’s similar to gelatin, a gelling agent from animals, but instead comes from plants. 

In its natural form, pectin can be harmful and isn’t safe for the body to digest. However, modified citrus pectin (MCP) is safe to digest.  It’s commonly used as a thickener in recipes, but it can also be an ingredient in some types of medicine.  Is pectin gluten-free?

Yes, pectin is gluten-free and completely safe for you to consume. 


Pectin is a natural substance found in fruits, which is extracted using a chemical process. It’s a natural product, so, therefore, doesn’t contain any other ingredients.

Nutritional Information

The serving size for pectin is 1oz (approx 29g). One serving contains 0g fat, 1g carbohydrates, 0g protein, and 3 calories.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}