Is Tostitos Queso Gluten-Free?

Is Tostitos Queso Gluten Free

Yes, Tostitos queso dip is gluten free and is safe to consume for those that have gluten allergies or sensitivities. Tostitos’ queso dip is a recreation of a delicious Texas creation called ‘chile con queso’.

Read on to learn more about this mouth-watering snack and find more gluten free options within the Tostito’s brand.

History of Tostitos

The Frito-Lay company was created in 1939 by Charles Elmer Doolin. By 1945 the Frito-Lay company was owned by PepsiCo. In 1966 Frito-Lay introduced their Doritos tortilla chips to much success. Upon seeing the success, Frito-Lay rolled out their new Tostitos, an unflavored tortilla chip in 1979.

Since the inception of the Tostitos brand in the Seventies, the company has been wildly popular. With increased brand recognition throughout the years, Tostitos went on to create a line of chips, dips, and salsas to go together. 

What is Tostitos queso?

Queso is the Spanish word for ‘cheese’ and although it is made primarily of cheese, that’s not all it features. The dish became well known throughout Texas, where it was invented, and is actually short for ‘chile con queso’ which means ‘chile with cheese’. 

In the traditional Tex-Mex recipes, queso dip is made with a block of Velveeta cheese, Ro-Tel diced tomatoes, and green chiles. Today, queso can be made with different cheeses and chiles like green chiles or jalapenos. 

While traditional chile con queso recipes are naturally gluten free, this is not always the case. Because this dish can be created with so many different options, you may find that the queso dip you’re eating isn’t gluten free. Be sure to always check the labels or ask the chef for the ingredient list.

How to serve queso

Queso is meant for dipping. While there are many ways to eat queso, you might find strange looks from traditionalists if you are eating it in a different way. Queso can be used as a cheese sauce over burritos, tacos, or nachos. 

What ingredients are in Tostitos queso?

All of the ingredients that are in Tostitos queso blanco dip are listed as:

  • Monterey Jack cheese
  • Water
  • Jalapeno peppers
  • Red bell peppers
  • Corn starch
  • Sunflower oil
  • Maltodextrin
  • Salt
  • Yeast
  • Whey
  • Artificial and natural flavors
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Buttermilk
  • Citric acid
  • Milk protein
  • Onion powder
  • Sugar
  • Sodium phosphate

Do Tostitos have other gluten free options?

While you may think that a brand having one gluten free option is a good thing, the Tostito’s brand decided to take that a step further. In order to get their product in front of as many consumers as possible, Tostitos has created a large list of gluten free options within their product line.

All of Tostitos chips, dips, and salsas are gluten free. This means that if you suffer from gluten allergies or sensitivities, you can be sure to enjoy a healthy portion of any Tostitos snacks safely.

Meta Description: Are you looking for gluten free queso options within the Tostito’s brand? Find out which products from Tostitos are safe for gluten allergies and intolerance.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}