Is Wolf Brand Chili Gluten-Free?

Is Wolf Brand Chili Gluten-Free?

Wolf brand chili might be gluten-free.

Most of the cans of Wolf Brand Chili contain oats, which may have come in contact with other gluten products. Some products, such as the Angus Beef with Beans, do not contain oats and might be gluten-free. 

A response from a ConAgra customer representative said that their “oats do not contain gluten, but they frequently have been exposed to wheat or barley … not recommended for celiac patients.“

ConAgra is also required by law to disclose any use of wheat or gluten and said “if any ingredient in the product includes rye or barley, it will be listed … [after] the ingredient.” 

ConAgra also disclosed a list of gluten-free products, however, Wolf Brand Chili was absent from that list.

On the product website, it goes into detail about its oats, saying their “whole rolled oats are milled from de-hulled oats. [They’ve been] steamed and rolled into a thin flake … then [lightly toasted]. [These oats are a] source of fiber.”

If in doubt, always read the label to see if the product contains any oat, wheat, or gluten derivative before consuming. Ideally, also look for a gluten-free allergen label.

What is the History of Wolf Brand Chili?

Wolf Brand Chili began at five cents a bowl out of a food wagon back in 1895 by Lyman T. Davis. In the year 1921, he began canning and marketing his chili to the immediate surrounding area in Corsicana. It was around this time that the brand officially received its name “Wolf Brand” in tribute to Lyman’s pet wolf.

Lyman eventually sold his business to J. C. West and Fred Slauson, two businessmen who modernized the manufacturing process and marketing strategies. Among their marketing innovations was turning all of their company vehicles into what resembled a food can, painted similarly to the Wolf Brand design, and putting a live wolf in the back as a display.

In 1957, following a successful expansion into other areas of America, Quaker Oats purchased Wolf Brand Chili from J. C. West and Fred Slauson, leaving Lyman’s original recipe unchanged. 

What are the Ingredients in Wolf Brand Chili?

Wolf Brand Chili Ingredients (Original With Beans): Meat Ingredients (Pork, Partially Defatted Chopped Beef, Beef), Water, Prepared Pinto Beans, Beef Broth, Tomato Puree (Water, Tomato Paste), Whole Rolled Oats, Chili Pepper, Contains Less than 2% of: Corn Starch, Salt, Sugar, Flavoring, Garlic Powder, Soy Lecithin, Caramel Color, Sodium Phosphate

What is the Nutritional Information of Wolf Brand Chili?

Wolf Brand Chili Nutritional Information (Original With Beans)

1 serving per container

Serving Size 1 can (425g)

Amount Per Serving

Calories

380

% Daily Value*

Total Fat 20 g

26%

Saturated Fat 7 g

35%

Trans Fat 0.5 g

Cholesterol 40 mg

13%

Sodium 930 mg

40%

Total Carbohydrate 34 g

12%

Dietary Fiber 7 g

25%

Total Sugars 3 g

Added Sugars 2 g

4%

Protein 16 g

24%

Vitamin D 0 mcg

0%

Calcium 40 mg 

4%

Iron 2.8 mg

15%

Potassium 810 mg

15%

Sources:

https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/101260-email-i-got-back-from-wolf-brand-chili/

https://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/entries/wolf-brand-chili 

Meta

Is Wolf Brand Chili gluten-free? We look at the process behind this delicious chili to find out if it’s really safe to eat.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}