Is Tobiko Gluten Free?

Is Tobiko Gluten-Free?

Tobiko is gluten-free. However, if you were to order tobiko at a restaurant or by prepared tobiko, it may not be gluten-free. While tobiko is naturally gluten-free, it is often made with ingredients that contain gluten. This is because tobiko is often prepared with soya sauce and other ingredients that may have gluten.

How you consume tobiko will determine whether it’s gluten-free or not. Tobiko is often used in sushi, and many ingredients in sushi contain gluten. No matter how you choose to eat tobiko, the main thing you need to consider for gluten content is what marinade or sauce it is served in.

It is recommended that people on a celiac diet avoid ordering tobiko when eating out because there is a very high chance that it is marinated in soya sauce and the tobiko may not be synthetic.

About Tobiko

Tobiko is also known as flying fish roe, which is a fancy way of saying fish eggs. They are tiny round reddish-orange ball-shaped eggs that range in size from 0.5 to 0.8 mm. People enjoy them for the crunchy texture as well as the smoky and salt flavor. 

If you were to order a dish with tobiko, it may come in a variety of different colors. This is because people add ingredients like squid ink or yuzu to change the appearance of the eggs. 

This ingredient is most commonly used in Japanese dishes, such as California rolls, or simply served in an avocado half. While there are many ways to consume tobiko, people on celiac diets should prepare it themselves to avoid cross-contamination with gluten.

One of the reasons people want to include tobiko in their diets is because it is believed to help reduce inflammation. Eating tobiko often may also help to improve cognitive ability.

Ingredients

The only ingredient in tobiko is eggs from flying fish species. This is why tobiko in its natural state is gluten-free. There is no risk of gluten until other ingredients have been added. 

If the tobiko you are using is reddish-orange, then it has no additives. Tobiko that is a different color will have an additive, Green tobiko gets its color from wasabi, black tobiko gets color from squid ink, and bright red tobiko gets color from beets. Often yuzu is used to create yellow tobiko as well.

Nutritional Information

The following chart shows the nutritional information for 100 grams of generic tobiko. While tobiko is a great source of protein it also has other nutritional benefits. Tobiko also has a healthy amount of omega-3 fatty acids. However, you should only consume tobiko in small amounts because it also has a lot of cholesterol.

Calories 250 calories
Total fat 18.75 g 29 % of your daily value
Saturated fat 6.25 g 31 %
Sodium 1500 mg 63 %
Cholesterol 587.5 mg 196 %
Carbohydrates 6.25 g 2 %
Vitamin A 0.4 mg 13 %
Vitamin C  15 mg 25 %
Protein 25 g 50 %

Sources

https://www.viraflare.com/is-tobiko-gluten-free/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tobiko

https://www.easyhomemadesushi.com/does-sushi-have-gluten/

http://recipeofhealth.com/nutrition-calories/fish-roe-tobiko-16087rb

https://www.thekitchn.com/ingredient-spotlight-tobiko-fl-108067

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}