Just because you’re gluten-intolerant doesn’t mean that you have to miss out on all of the sweet treats that the world has to offer. Locating gluten-free treats can be difficult, especially when the lines of what’s considered gluten-free or not are blurred.
Airheads, manufactured by Perfetti Van Melle, are a chewy, tangy candy. They come in a variety of different forms but are enjoyed by kids and adults alike as a sugary treat. But, are airheads gluten-free?
This is where those blurry lines come into play. Yes, most airheads are gluten-free, but this isn’t declared on the packaging. The ingredients technically don’t contain any gluten, but there’s the risk of cross-contamination, i.e. being made and packaged in the same place as other gluten-containing products.
Are All Variations of Airheads Gluten-Free?
No, not all variations of airheads are gluten-free. Airheads Xtremes contain wheat starch and therefore are not suitable for people with gluten-intolerances to eat, so be careful!
The Airheads variations that you can safely eat are:
- Airheads Gummies
- Airheads Bites
- Airheads Soft Filled Bites
- Airheads Bars, all flavors including, Grape, Green Apple, Orange, Blue Raspberry, Cherry, White Mystery, and Watermelon.
Depending on which variation of Airheads you choose, the ingredients will likely differ.
The ingredients for Airhead bars are:
Artificial Flavors, Artificial Colors, Blue 1, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Red 40, Sugar, Water, Corn Syrup, Dextrose, Modified Food Starch (Corn), Maltodextrin, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Citric Acid.
Again, the nutritional information will depend based on which Airheads you choose.
One Airhead bar contains 0g protein, 14g carbohydrates, 1g fat, 9g sugar, and 60 calories!
Enjoy this bite-size gluten-free treat wherever you like! As they’re individually wrapped, they’re perfect for lunch boxes or at a kids’ party (of course, as part of a balanced diet).