Are Capri Suns Gluten-Free?

Is Capri Suns Gluten Free

Capri suns and all of the products available under the brand Capri Sun are gluten-free.

Are Capri suns gluten-free?

Yes, capri suns are gluten-free. All derivatives of the brand, such as flavored versions, are also gluten-free.

About Capri suns

Capri sun is a German-owned brand and is named after the sunny Italian island of Capri. Originally introduced to the market in 1969, the idea behind Capri Suns was to have a naturally sweet fruit juice drink that could be conveniently and easily taken with you wherever you wanted to go.

Although being a German brand, Capri Sun has been a popular juice drink in the United States since 1981 and remains popular to this day. Within the United States, the drink is distributed by Kraft Heinz, however, in Europe, the product is distributed by Coca-Cola. 

A standard-sized box of Capri Suns contains 10 pouches of the drink, each containing 200ml of juice drink. However, many versions now contain only 180ml of the drink. 

One of the most defining features of the Capri Sun is its shape. The juice comes in a trapezoid pouch into which you punch a hole with the straw provided. However, when placed on a flat surface the pouch is able to stand up on its own.

In some countries, there are larger versions, such as a 330ml version and a resealable pouch.

The materials used to make the pouch have been non-recyclable, leading to many calling for the manufacturing company to update its process to help the environment.

There are a very large number of different flavors available with the juice drink. Many have been tried and tested over the years and some have since been discontinued. However, there is still a wide range of flavors for sale. Some of these include more common flavors like:

  • Tropical
  • Strawberry
  • Lemonade
  • Wild Cherry
  • Apple

However, there are also some more unusual flavors on offer such as:

  • Coastal Cooler
  • Alaska Iced Tea’s
  • Safari Fruits
  • Berry Tangerine Morning
  • Surfer Cooler

So, no matter the preference of flavors there is a Capri Sun flavor for everyone. 

There has been some controversy with the products in the past as mold in the shape of a worm was found inside several Capri Sun pouches in 2014. This led to many people calling for the company to better package their drinks. Capri Sun released clear-bottomed pouches as a result of this issue in order to allow the consumer to clearly see that their drink was free of mold.

Ingredients

Capri sun prides themselves on using on all-natural ingredients in their products. So, in a regular Capri sun you will find the following:

Water, fruit juice from concentrate, sweetener (either sugar or stevia), natural flavorings, vitamin C

Nutritional information

The nutritional information for a regular Capri sun is:

Serving size 1 pouch (170g)
Calories 66
Total fat 0.1g
Saturated fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 3.4mg
Carbohydrates 17g
Fiber 0g
Total sugars 15g
Protein 0g
Calcium 1% of daily intake

Sources

https://www.nutritionix.com/i/nutritionix/capri-sun-1-pouch/54a16c20c70d0fbe55a4b3ef

https://www.capri-sun.com/uk/capri-pedia/capri-sun-ingredients/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capri_Sun

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}