Are Sour Skittles Gluten-Free?

Are Sour Skittles Gluten Free

Are Sour Skittles Gluten Free?

If you are following a gluten-free diet, but love candy, you will be happy to know that Sour Skittles are indeed gluten-free. In fact, every flavor of Skittles is gluten-free!

If you’re unable to eat gluten because of Celiac disease or a wheat allergy, every food can seem like a potential source of gluten due to the fact that gluten-containing grains are often used as binders for various foods. Even candies you wouldn’t expect to have gluten in them, like Twizzlers and Milky Way Bars, contain secret gluten!

Sometimes, foods whose ingredient lists don’t contain gluten are made in factories where cross-contamination may occur, or processed and packaged alongside gluten-containing products, and therefore are classified as gluten-safe; meaning they are likely to be fine for most people following a gluten-free diet, but not officially gluten-free, as they could affect those who are extremely sensitive. 

Luckily, Sour Skittles and other Skittles flavors are officially gluten-free; it’s even printed on the package! Some of the ingredients, like corn starch, may seem to contain gluten. Corn is a grain, after all. However, corn is gluten-free. 

In fact, corn and corn byproducts are used as a gluten-free substitute in many recipes that contain wheat or other grains that contain gluten. 

Additionally, Sour Skittles do not contain dairy or gelatin. You can enjoy Sour Skittles without worrying about harming yourself with gluten, or harming animals by consuming their byproducts.

Aside from all of the sugar, Sour Skittles are pretty much guilt-free! 

All About Skittles

Skittles were originally created in the UK in the mid-’70s, named after a sports game. Bowling is actually descended directly from the sport of skittles! The candy was named after the game because they look like the pieces used.

In the late ’70s, Skittles were introduced in the United States as an import confectionery. They became so popular that domestic production began in the US just a few years later. 

Skittles are well known for their tagline, “Taste the Rainbow.” 

Skittles are available in a variety of flavor collections. Sour Skittles were introduced in the year 2000. Their flavors are Sour Grape, Sour Lemon, Sour Strawberry, Sour Orange, and Sour Green Apple, which replaced Sour Lime in 2013.

Sour Skittles are descended from the short-lived Tart N’ Tangy Skittles which were introduced in 1989 and discontinued in 1992. 



Corn Syrup

Citric Acid

Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil

Less than 2% of:

Modified Corn Starch

Tapioca Dextrin

Sodium Citrate

Carnauba Wax

Natural Flavors

Artificial Flavors

Colors: Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 6, Titanium Dioxide

Nutrition Info Sour Skittles (single serving bag)
Amount Per Serving 1.8 oz bag
Calories 204
Total Fat 2g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 7mg
Carbohydrate 46g
Sugar 37g
Protein .1g
Vitamin C 52%


Skittles (confectionery) – Wikipedia

Are Skittles Gluten-Free? Here’s What You Should Know – Spoon …

Skittles (sport) – Wikipedia

Are Skittles gluten-free? Find out if they are safe for a gluten-free diet

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}