Are Fizzers Gluten Free?

Are Fizzers Gluten Free

Are Fizzers Gluten-Free? 

Fizzers are gluten-free. If you enjoy this classic candy but are on a gluten-free diet, you’re in luck. There are no ingredients used in the making of Fizzers that contain gluten. This candy is labelled as Coeliac and Celiac friendly. Fizzers are also free of gelatine and vegan friendly. 

All About Fizzers

Fizzers are a popular candy by the brand Swizzels. Almost every Halloween, trick-or-treaters will find a roll or two in their candy stash. This candy comes in a roll of small circular pieces that are in the shape of a tiny puck. While the candy is hard at first touch, it becomes chewy once it’s placed in your mouth. The candy begins to fizz as you chew on it.

Many people will place their Fizzers in soda and watch them dissolve. This popular candy has different names around the world as well, known as Smarties in the US and Rockets in Canada. Fizzers were the first invention behind the Swizzels brand from the UK and date back as early as 1933. Each roll of Fizzers comes with 6 fruity flavors:

  • Cherry
  • Black Currant
  • Lime
  • Lemon
  • Pineapple
  • Orange

While many people are used to seeing the rolls of Fizzers available around Halloween, people who really love this treat are able to buy it in bags or even giant Fizzer rolls. 

Swizzels is a UK-based confectionery company that exports candy to more than 20 countries. This brand is worth over 47 million pounds, with Halloween making up for the majority of the company’s sales. While they began the candy journey selling Fizzers, they now have an assortment of lollies, mints, chocolate, and more. 

Fizzers Ingredients

Each flavor of Fizzers comes in a different color. These candies appear as tiny pastel puck shapes, however, no artificial colors are used to create these sweets. The flavor of Fizzers can be described as sweet and tangy, which means you can expect a higher sugar content in each roll.

These are the ingredients used to make Fizzers. (Please note, all ingredients used in Fizzers are gluten-free and Halal)

  • Sugar
  • Acidity regulator
  • Malic acid
  • Stearic acid
  • Sodium bicarbonate
  • Modified starch 
  • Magnesium stearate
  • Magnesium carbonate
  • Anthocyanin
  • Copper Chlorophyllin
  • Curcumin
  • Lutein
  • Paprika

Fizzers Nutritional Information

Nutritional value For 100 grams of Fizzers (1 regular sized roll)
Energy (KJ) 1165
Energy (KCAL) 392
Fat 3.1 grams
Saturated fat 3.1 grams
Carbohydrates 87.6 grams
Sugars 85.6 grams
Protein 0.01 grams
Salt 2.1 grams

If you’re looking for a gluten-free candy to hand out at Halloween or put on the treat table for parties, Fizzers are an excellent choice. However, each package of Fizzers contains a high amount of sugar. It is not recommended to eat more than one serving of Fizzers in a day or you may consume too much sugar.

Fizzers do not contain any vitamins, antioxidants, or other ingredients that are needed for a well-balanced diet. Nutrition-wise, you should not eat Fizzers each day, but once in a while will not cause any harm.

Sources

https://www.aquarterof.co.uk/fizzers

https://swizzels.com/nutritional-information/pick-n-mix-fizzers/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swizzels

https://swizzels.com/sweets/fizzers/

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}