Is Candy from Sees Gluten-Free?
Sees Candy might be gluten-free. While the company itself states that products do not contain gluten, they do admit sourcing certain candies from partner confectioners. These process on equipment shared with gluten-containing products. Some are the peanut squares, candy canes, apple pie truffles, chocolate coffee beans and the hot cocoa.
Every chocolate and confection made by See’s that is located behind the glass counter is gluten-free. Many of these confections are from Mary See’s original recipes from 1921.
About Sees Candy
Sees Candy has been a beloved American favorite, famous for their chocolates since 1921. They’re so popular that the 1950s TV Show, I Love Lucy, featured Sees Candy in their episode “Job Switching.” This was the time that Ethel and Lucy got jobs at a chocolate-making facility. It was one of the most popular episodes ever shown on television.
Read More >> Are SNICKERS Candy Bars Gluten-Free?
Peanut Squares: Peanuts, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Butter, Vanilla, Almonds, Brown Sugar, Walnuts, Salt, Eggs, Pecans, Cashews, Cream, Hazelnuts and Dark Chocolate [vanilla, vanillin, butter, cocoa butter, sugar, chocolate, soy lecithin].
Candy Canes: Peppermint Oil, Sugar and Artificial Colors [red 40 lake and red 40].
Apple Pie Truffles: Freeze Dried Apples, Walnuts, Butter, Salt, Corn Syrup, Peanuts, Cinnamon, Coconut, Eggs, Cashews, Pecans, Hazelnuts and White Chocolate [cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanillin, milk and sugar]
Chocolate Coffee Beans: Coffee Beans, Confectioner’s Glaze, Tapioca Dextrin and Dark Chocolate [cocoa butter, soy lecithin, vanilla flavor, chocolate liquor, sugar and milk fat]
Hot Cocoa: Non-Fat Dry Milk, Sugar, Cocoa, Whey, Salt, Guar Gum, Natural Flavoring, Artificial Flavoring, Non-Dairy Creamer [corn syrup, solids, coconut oil, caseinate, sodium silico aluminate, monoglycerides, diglycerides and dipotassium phosphate]
Sees doesn’t supply the nutritional information for their products. However, given the nature of candy, you can expect a high fat and sugar content which means there will be plenty of calories in a single piece of candy. Other information on the internet is not reliable.
Is Everything Gluten-Free?
Almost everything for sale at See’s Candies is gluten-free, with the possible exception of some items that are created by other confectioners, manufactured in a facility that processes some items containing gluten. These items include:
- Candy Canes
- Peanut Butter Bites
- Lemon Drops
- Apple Pie Bites
- Hunnakah Hard Candy
- Hot Cocoa
- Chocolate Covered Coffee Beans
Chocolate Covered Coffee Beans Might Not Be Gluten-Free
These and the hot cocoa mix are the only chocolate products that might possibly contain gluten. While there are no gluten-containing ingredients in the chocolate coating or the beans, there may be cross-contamination from gluten used in other products at the same facility.
About the Build Your Own Box Confections
Are See’s candies gluten-free when I’m creating a Build Your Own Box? Yes, celiac disease sufferers can still enjoy choosing from the array of famous candies enrobed in creamy chocolate without worry.
Scotchmallow or Bordeaux?
There is debate over which of these two top sellers were the candies Lucille Ball practiced dipping for her famous chocolate factory scene in I Love Lucy. Depending on whether you prefer the dark chocolate and caramel of the Scotchmallow, or the milk chocolate and soft brown sugar center of the Milk Bordeaux, there is a gluten-free treat at See’s you’ll want to try!
Scotchmallows contain sugar, chocolate, cocoa butter, butter, soy lecithin, vanilla, vanillin, cream, corn syrup, honey, egg whites, brown sugar, gelatin, salt, cornstarch, almonds, walnuts, coconut, pecans, and peanuts.
Milk Bordeaux contains sugar, milk, cocoa butter, chocolate, soy lecithin, vanillin, brown sugar, cream, cocoa (processed with potassium carbonate), confectionery glaze, corn syrup, salt, and butter, vanilla, almonds, walnuts, coconut, pecans, eggs, peanuts, cashews, and hazelnuts.
|Single piece of candy||Scotchmallow||Milk Bordeaux|