Are SNICKERS Candy Bars Gluten-Free?

Yes, they don’t have any ingredients that contain gluten; but no, they are not listed as gluten-free.

SNICKERS Might Be Gluten-Free

According to celiac.com, SNICKERS Candy Bars are lacking the ingredients that would contain gluten, but they are not specifically labeled as gluten-free. Therefore, it’s a product that shouldn’t contain gluten but hasn’t been tested to verify that information. Anyone with celiac disease or serious gluten intolerance should always be cautious with products that are not specifically labeled as gluten free.

What is a SNICKERS bar?

SNICKERS is a chewy candy bar containing a sweet nougat topped with peanuts and caramel, all wrapped milk chocolate. SNICKERS bars can be found in brown wrappers with blue lettering on a white background. The appearance of the wrapper has not changed since it was first released, leading it to become one of the most easily recognizable brands in the world.

Who makes SNICKERS?

SNICKERS is owned by Mars Inc., which has been family owned for over 100 years. Coming from a small beginning in Chicago, Illinois, they now work in over 80 counties around the world. Mars is now involved with petcare brands, food products, nutrition technology and sustainability, and of course, the well-known and infamous M&M’S, ORBIT, and SKITTLES brand treats.  

How does Mars handle allergens?

Mars says that they take food allergies very seriously because it affects their consumers. They have an extensive allergen management program which includes staff training, evaluating their ingredients, and validating their cleaning procedures. At Mars, their goal is to provide safe, high quality food products. Therefore, Mars has developed strict rules about the labeling of allergens on all their products.

When were SNICKERS invented?

In 1930 the very first SNICKERS Bar was made and sold in Chicago for 5 cents. It was allegedly named after the Mars family’s favorite horse. With over $1 billion in total sales and around $424 million per year, the SNICKERS Bar is undeniable the most popular candy bar in the world.

Why do people love SNICKERS?

People love SNICKERS because it provides a great tasting treat with the benefit of having protein and carbs, and the ability to fill you up and give you energy. It is not a healthy everyday substitute for good meals, but it helps when you are feeling famished. People also love SNICKERS because a great tasting candy bar will lift your spirits getting you through tough days.

Is SNICKERS more than just a candy bar?

When SNICKERS first entered the market there was a controversy over the price of the candy bar. Most candy was sold for 5 cents at the time, while SNICKERS was asking for 20 cents. The Mars company made a smart move in branding their candy bar as more of a delicious energy bar than a tradition candy bar. This marketing tactic obviously worked and has lasted for generations, leading to the award-winning “You’re not you when you’re hungry” campaign created in 2010.

What are the SNICKERS varieties?

There started with only one type, but there are now many varieties of SNICKERS bars, including the infamous SNICKERS ORIGINALS, the popular SNICKERS ICE CREAM bars, and the new line of SNICKERS BROWNIE bars. There are also variations of the size of the candy bars, including fun-sized great for passing out as Halloween candy!

The following are varieties that SNICKERS now has available:

    • Original
    • Brownie
    • Peanut Butter
    • Hazelnut
    • Crips
    • Almond
    • White Chocolate

Are the miniature size SNICKERS gluten free?

According to celiac.com, there is a possibility that the different sized SNICKERS bars have different gluten regulations. While still not having ingredients containing gluten, the smaller fun-sized varieties may have a greater chance of cross contamination from other products that do contain gluten because, like most large confectionery brands, they are made in a facility where many products are manufactured.  

Are SNICKERS ICE CREAM gluten-free?

SNICKERS ICE CREAM bars don’t contain any ingredients that have gluten, but they are not certified or guaranteed to be gluten-free because they are made in a facility where potential cross-contamination could occur.

Ingredients:

MILK CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, COCOA BUTTER, CHOCOLATE, SKIM MILK, LACTOSE, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN), PEANUTS, CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, PALM OIL, SKIM MILK, LACTOSE, SALT, EGG WHITES, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR

Allergens:

CONTAINS PEANUTS, MILK, EGG AND SOY. MAY CONTAIN TREE NUTS.

Nutritional Information:

250

Calories

4.5

Sat Fat (g)

125

Sodium (mg)

28

Total Sugars (g)

Serving Size: 1 Bar

Total Fat

12 g

15% Daily Value*

Saturated Fat

4.5 g

23%

Trans Fat

0 g

 

Cholesterol

<5 mg

0%

Sodium

125 mg

5%

Total Carbohydrate

32 g

12%

Dietary Fiber

1 g

4%

Total Sugars

28 g

 

Added Sugars

26 g

52%

Protein

4 g

 

Vitamin D

 

0%

Calcium

 

4%

Iron

 

0%

Potassium

 

4%

*The % Daily Value tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet of 2,000 Calories a day.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}