Are Trolli Gummy Worms Gluten Free?

Are Trolli Gummy Worms Gluten-Free?

Trolli gummy worms are gluten-free. Most gummy candies that the Trolli brand produces are made from a gluten-free recipe. However, if you are on a celiac diet you should be cautious because there is a chance that these gummy worms may have come in contact with candy that has gluten ingredients. 

Although the gummy worms are made on equipment that doesn’t come in contact with candy that isn’t gluten-free, it’s the packaging where the cross-contamination could happen. There is a slight risk that the gummy worms could come in contact with traces of gluten when they are getting packaged.

About Trolli Gummy Worms

Trolli is a popular candy brand that’s known for its exciting range of bright, colorful, and fun candies. One of the best-selling types of candies from Trolli is the gummy worms, also known as crawlers. Fans of gummy worms love Trolli because they have the biggest gummy worm selection. People can find a variety of gummy worm types to choose from, such as:

  • Sour brite gummy crawlers
  • Sour crunchy gummy crawlers
  • Very berry gummy crawlers
  • Fruit punch gummy crawlers
  • Watermelon gummy crawlers
  • Mystery flavor gummy crawlers
  • Tropical gummy crawlers
  • Squiggles
  • Slurpee flavor gummy crawlers

These candy gummy worms are known for brightening up people’s moods on the gloomiest days. Some believe it’s because of the exciting neon shades of these candies. Sour bites are the most popular variety of crawlers, followed by squiggles. Although there is a range of fruity flavors so every candy lover can find something they enjoy.

The original gummy worm from Trolli is the squiggles version. These gummy worms are fun because each worm has two colors and comes in the following flavor combinations:

  • Strawberry grape
  • Lime lemon
  • Cherry orange

Trolli is a German candy brand that is best known for selling gummies. However, they also sell other soft candies, like licorice, gum, and marshmallows. This company first launched in 1948, but really took off in the 1950s through 1960s. It is now known as one of the best-selling gummy brands worldwide. On top of gummy worms, they feature a variety of exciting gummy shapes.

Ingredients

We’re going to review the ingredients for the original Trolli squiggles gummy worms. There are no ingredients used that feature gluten.

  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Gelatin
  • Sodium citrate
  • Lactic acid
  • Citric acid
  • Modified food starch (corn)
  • Sodium lactate
  • Coconut oil
  • Carnauba wax
  • Blue 1
  • Yellow 6
  • Yellow 5
  • Red 40 

Nutritional Information

The following chart shows the nutritional information for 3 Trolli squiggles gummy worms.

Calories 80
Total fat 0 grams 0 % daily value
Cholesterol 0 grams 0
Carbohydrates 20 grams 7 %
Sugars 11 grams 22 %
Protein 1 gram
Sodium 40 mg 2 %
Calcium 10 mg 1 %
Potassium 1 mg

Measuring where the calories come from in one serving of Trolli gummy worms comes from a measurement of 95.2 % carbohydrates, 4.8 % protein, and 0 % fat.  There are 20 NET carbs in one 3 piece serving. 

Sources:

https://www.trolli.com/products/crawlers/squiggles.html

https://theglutenfreebar.com/blogs/gluten-free-food-list/are-trolli-sour-brite-crawlers-gluten-free

https://www.myfooddiary.com/foods/7444828/trolli-squiggles

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trolli

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}