Is Barley Grass Gluten-Free?

Is Barley Grass Gluten-Free?

Barley grass is a common ingredient. It’s used in countless green powders and even juices. It’s a very healthy grain that promotes health, such as heart health. Since it has so many health benefits, it’s something worth trying. Is barley grass gluten-free?

No, typically barley grass isn’t gluten-free. Barley grass contains gluten quite often. Although there are brands and types of barley grass that have gluten-free alternatives, you shouldn’t try the regular type because it is a huge risk for those with celiac disease. Experts recommend that people with celiac disease should avoid barley completely.

The rest of this article will cover why barley grass is not gluten-free, where to find gluten-free barley grass, how to avoid barley grass, and alternatives to barley grass.

Why Barley Grass Is Not Gluten-Free

Is Barley Grass Gluten-Free?

Barley grass is not gluten-free because it is a grain. Along with that, barley tends to be manufactured in areas where gluten products are common. You should avoid barley grass products at all costs. However, there are some barley grass products that are gluten-free.

If you see a barley grass product specifically marked as gluten-free, that means it was processed in an area without gluten. Also, in order for barley grass to be gluten-free, it needs to be picked before sprouting and picking seeds.

There is no other way barley grass can be gluten-free. Even then, there is still a risk because barley can have an early sprout. Therefore, there can be gluten present in the freshly picked barley. That’s why overall, it’s better to avoid barley grass.

If you really want barley grass, make sure you go for the ones labeled as gluten-free. To take it one step further, contact the manufacturer and inquire about how they get their gluten-free barley. Also be sure to check the ingredients to guarantee there are no gluten products inside.

Read More >> Is Wheatgrass Gluten-Free?

Where To Find Gluten-Free Barley Grass

Is Barley Grass Gluten-Free?

Gluten-free barley grass is a bit tricky since it’s difficult to make. Thanks to its difficulty, you’ll often see it out of stock or unavailable. You’ll need to look on online websites first. These sites are your best option because they have a much wider variety than in-person stores.

While in-person stores sell out often and don’t have as much variety, you can find tens of thousands of options on online stores such as Amazon. Along with that, Amazon has a neat function where you can ask questions about certain products.

Is Barley Grass Gluten-Free?

When you ask the question, the seller and or other customers can answer it. That means if you ask if the product is gluten-free, you’ll get a response very quickly. Your best bet is to look for popular products, that way you’ll get an answer even faster.

If shopping online doesn’t appeal to you, you can try in-person stores. Ask employees about the gluten-free products they offer and if barley grass is among them. Sometimes, even if the store is sold out of the item, they will help you plan a time to come back and get it when it’s in stock.

How To Avoid Barley Grass

Is Barley Grass Gluten-Free?

To avoid eating barley grass, look at the ingredients and determine the gluten contents. You can see what goes into each product. Many powders and juices contain barley grass, and there’s an even higher risk of barley grass being involved if the product is green.

If you don’t see a gluten-free label on the product, run. Run away as far as you can and don’t bother picking that product up again. Even if the product is labeled as gluten-free, you can never be too safe with a product known for having gluten in it.

Be sure to ask employees and friends about the gluten contents. You can also turn to online resources, such as gluten blogs and communities. Communities are great for building relationships with others while also learning more about gluten-free foods you can try.

Read More >> Is BarleyMax Gluten-Free?

Alternatives To Barley Grass

Is Barley Grass Gluten-Free?

Barley grass is extremely healthy, so finding an alternative is a great idea to better boost your health, particularly your heart health. One perfect alternative is carrots. Carrots are healthy and easy to get. You can find them both in-person and online.

Carrots are a healthy snack you can have as a substitute for barley grass. You can even make juices and powders out of carrots. However, if that doesn’t appeal to you, try beans. Beans are gluten-free, and to top it all off, they’re full of fiber and proteins.

Lastly, you can try cauliflower. Cauliflower is extremely versatile and can work with countless dishes. Fun fact, a lot of pizza companies use cauliflower crust instead of dough crust when they’re making their gluten-free options.

Cauliflower is perfectly safe for those with celiac disease. Along with that, cauliflower is healthy and absorbs any seasonings you put on it, making it a tasty treat and alternative for barley grass.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}