Is Canada Dry Ginger Ale Gluten Free?

Is Canada Dry Ginger Ale Gluten Free?

Ginger ale is a crisp, delicious soda beverage prescribed by many mothers for generations for ailments such as soothing upset stomachs or even colds. 

But you don’t want to reach for a stomach-soothing beverage only to find that it is hurting you even worse from secret gluten.

You can rest easy because, while Canada Dry’s classic ginger ale is best enjoyed in moderation due to containing sugar from corn syrup, it is safe to drink for those on a gluten-free diet. 

Ginger ale is naturally gluten-free. It doesn’t contain any ingredients with gluten, nor does it contain any ingredients that often come into contact with gluten or are known for cross-contamination.

Canada Dry is produced by the Dr Pepper company. All Dr Pepper company products are considered gluten-free.

Canada Dry Flavors

Is Canada Dry Ginger Ale Gluten Free?

You can enjoy all of these gluten-free flavors:

  • Classic Ginger Ale

  • Green Tea Ginger Ale

  • Ginger Ale and Lemonade
  • Bold Ginger Ale

  • Cranberry Ginger Ale

  • Blackberry Ginger Ale

  • Ginger Ale and Orangeade

Corn Gluten

While Ginger Ale is free from wheat gluten, corn syrup may contain corn gluten. However, those with Celiacs and no allergy to corn are safe from corn gluten. 

Read More >> Is Bourbon Gluten-Free?

Corn gluten is a byproduct of corn production and only those who have a corn allergy should worry about it – in that case, a beverage with corn syrup would not be safe. But corn gluten has no relation to true gluten.

About Canada Dry

Is Canada Dry Ginger Ale Gluten Free?

Canada Dry began its life in 1904 under a different brand name. The founder owned a Canada-based plant that produced sparkling water. As he saw syrupy sodas start to become more popular, he began perfecting the recipe which eventually developed into the Canada Dry we drink today.

Canada Dry was popular as a mixer in cocktails in the Prohibition Era. The syrupy ginger flavor and refreshing carbonation were great at masking the harsh flavors of the bootleg alcohol that was consumed in that time period. 

To this day, Canada Dry is popular as a mixer in alcoholic cocktails as well as alcohol-free cocktails. It is sometimes called the champagne of soda and was even marketed as a high-end beverage for a more upper-class crowd in decades past. 

Read More >> Gluten-Free Chinese Foods?

Canada Dry is advertised as containing real ginger, which is shown to help soothe stomach issues such as indigestion or nausea. The ginger content in ginger ale is quite low, less than 2% by volume, but many do feel some relief from digestive issues when sipping ginger ale.

Whether this is by design or due to a placebo effect from most people’s childhoods being given ginger ale as a cure-all for any sort of ailment, what matters the most is that it works!

Ingredients

Is Canada Dry Ginger Ale Gluten Free?
  • Carbonated Water

  • High Fructose Corn Syrup

  • Ginger Extract

  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural Flavors

  • Caramel Color

Nutrition Facts

Canada Dry Classic Ginger Ale

Serving Size

12 fl oz

Calories

140

Total Fat

0g

Sodium

50mg

Total Carbohydrates

36g

Protein

0g

Sources

Canada Dry: Ginger Ales, Seltzer Waters, Sodas

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) | Dr Pepper

Is Canadry Dry Ginger Ale Gluten-Free? – The GFB

Is Canada Dry Gluten Free? – GlutenBee

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}