Is Disaronno Gluten-Free?  

Is Disaronno Gluten Free

Great news for amaretto fans: Disaronno is completely gluten free! While most alcoholic beverages are made from wheat-based products, Disaronno is an amaretto uniquely based on apricot kernel oil. Both its original recipe and its new cream liquor do not contain any gluten.

Unless you’re making a mixed cocktail with other gluten containing elements, Disaronno is the way to go if you want an alcoholic drink that’s gluten free. In this article, we’ll provide you with a little Disaronno history, flavor, ingredients, nutritional facts, and drink recipe ideas to enjoy your favorite Italian liquor.

 

About Disaronno

 

Disaronno Originale amaretto liquor originated with Domenico Reina in the early 20th century when he revived an old family recipe in Saronno, Italy. He began to sell his concoction in a small shop near the train station in Milan. In the 1960s, Disaronno became popular in the United States especially among those who sought out Italian liquor.

In the 1970s, a famous glassmaker from Venice handcrafted Disaronno’s signature square shaped bottle which is still in use and widely recognized today. Just last spring in March 2020, Disaronno launched a new product called Disaronno Velvet which combines its signature amaretto with cream and vanilla producing a cream liquor similar to Bailey’s Irish Cream but with an Italian twist.

Disaronno Originale boasts a unique flavor of toasted almonds and cherries and contains 28% alcohol by volume. Disaronno Velvet also tastes distinctly of toasted almonds, vanilla, and cream and contains only 17% alcohol by volume.

Disaronno Originale can be served in a variety of ways including straight up, on the rocks, or mixed with other common cocktail mixers such as ginger ale, soda, or fruit juice. The brand’s website boasts some signature cocktail recipes including the Disaronno Fizz which includes lemon juice, sparkling water or soda, and Disaronno Originale, and the Disaronno Sour which includes simple syrup, Disaronno Originale, egg white, and lemon juice.

While Disaronno has not published any official drink recipes on their website for their new Disaronno Velvet, this cream liquor can make an excellent espresso martini if mixed with vodka and a coffee liquor. Similar to Bailey’s Irish Cream, it’s a wonderful addition to coffee, tea, or even poured over ice cream.

 

Ingredients

 

Disaronno Originale is an amaretto liquor made from burnt sugar, apricot kernel oil, absolute alcohol, and seventeen fruits, spices, and herbs. Disaronno does not divulge which flavors they use to infuse their liquor with as they aim to keep the recipe secret so as not to attract copycats.

Disaronno’s new line of cream liquor named Disaronno Velvet contains Disaronno Originale, cream, and vanilla. This rich new flavor is also gluten free for those who are wary of gluten.

Nutritional Information

 

Disaronno Originale

Serving size 1 fluid ounce
Calories 107
Calories from Fat 0.9
Cholesterol 0 milligrams
Fiber 0 milligrams
Protein 0 grams
Potassium 10 milligrams
Sodium 2.8 milligrams
Sugar 11 grams
Total Fat 0.1 grams
Total Carbohydrates 11 grams

 

Disaronno Velvet nutritional informational is unavailable at this time.

Sources

 

https://www.disaronno.com/en/drinks

https://www.disaronno.com/en

https://www.alcademics.com/2014/07/disaronno-distillery-visit-in-saronno-italy.html

https://www.nutritionix.com/i/disaronno/italian-liqueur/5b325d286ae3f96f1bb958f9

 

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}