If you’ve got gluten intolerances or allergies, you’ll feel like you’re forever looking at ingredients lists. Gluten is in so many of the nation’s favorite products and these must be detected early on. Not only is it in food, but it can also be in many drinks too.
Kombucha is a fermented, fizzy drink that’s made from tea. Kombucha originated from Northeast China and is a drink paired that’s typically paired with many popular Korean dishes.
It has tons of health benefits, including boosting your immune system and digestive health and combatting bloating. All of those benefits and still super tasty! But, is Kombucha gluten-free?
Yes, it is! Because of its natural ingredients, kombucha is generally gluten-free. Whether you decide to make your own kombucha or you buy it from the store, it’s completely safe for those with gluten intolerances or allergies to consume.
If it’s manufactured around other gluten-containing products, there’s a risk of cross-contamination. It should be manufactured in allergen-safe facilities and safe for you to consume. However, if you’re worried about this, you could make it yourself.
There aren’t too many ingredients that are added to kombucha, and so, even during the fermentation process, kombucha should be safe for you to consume.
There are a variety of different brands of kombucha that are gluten-free, but we’re going to look at Remedy Kombucha in further detail. All of the flavors including Original, Raspberry Lemonade, Apple Crisp, Ginger Lemon, Cherry Plum, and Peach are gluten-free.
The ingredients for Remedy Kombucha Raspberry Lemonade are:
Raw Kombucha (green tea leaves, black tea leaves, carbonated water, traditional kombucha culture, sugar*), Sweetener: steviol glycosides, Flavor Enhancer: hibiscus tea, lemon juice, natural raspberry flavoring, erythritol.
* After the fermentation process, no sugar remains.
Each can is 250ml and this serving size contains 0.5g fat, 3.8g carbohydrates, 0g sugar, 0.5g protein, and only 7 calories.