Is Las Palmas Enchilada Sauce Gluten Free?

Is Las Palmas Enchilada Sauce Gluten Free? 

Las Palmas has a few different types of available enchilada sauces. Unfortunately, they are not all gluten free. 

Some of their enchilada sauces contain modified corn starch, which is not considered a gluten free ingredient. Many of their green enchilada sauces contain this ingredient, but some of their red ones don’t. No Las Palmas products are certified gluten free on their packaging. 

Therefore, it’s important to read the label before you purchase to ensure the type of sauce you choose is suitable for your diet. 

About Las Palmas

Las Palmas has the goal of helping people create Mexican inspired dishes from the comfort of their own homes with accessible and affordable ingredients. Their products come in cans, and range from sauces to beans and peppers and much more. 

The company has been creating products for over 75 years to help bring staple ingredients from Mexican dishes to the masses. 

What Are Enchiladas?

Enchiladas are a well-known Mexican dish that consists of tortillas, either made from corn or wheat, wrapped over a filling. The filling can include a variety of items, such as beans, cheese, meat, or vegetables. The rolled up, filled tortillas are then placed inside a casserole dish and covered in enchilada sauce, and sometimes sprinkled with cheese. They are then baked in an oven. 

Enchiladas come in many variations and have evolved from their origins. An enchilada used to just simply consist of a tortilla being dipped in chili. 

What Is Enchilada Sauce?

Fittingly, a main component of most enchilada sauce is chili powder or red chili pepper. This makes sense, considering enchiladas originated as tortillas being dipped in chili. There are usually other items added, including garlic and onion, and they all simmer together in a broth. Traditionally, flour is used to help thicken up the sauce. 

Sometimes people confuse enchilada sauce with salsa, considering they consist of many of the same ingredients. However, salsa is chunkier and is tomato based. Enchilada sauce also has to be cooked in order to prepare it, while salsa is prepared with raw vegetables. 

Green enchilada sauce has also become increasingly popular, and the main component is usually green chili peppers. 

Can Enchilada Sauce Be Used For Other Dishes?

Enchilada sauce makes an excellent addition to a variety of casseroles. It can also add a juicy consistency and a boost of flavor to meat, especially if the meat simmers in the sauce for a long time, such as in a slow cooker. 

It also works well in dishes that take the main components of an enchilada and transform them into new dishes, like a mexican lasagna or an enchilada soup. 

What Kinds Of Enchilada Sauce Does Las Palmas Produce?

Las Palmas makes a few different flavors of their enchilada sauce, including:

  • Original Style Enchilada Sauce

  • Tomato Enchilada Sauce

  • Green Chile Hot Enchilada Sauce

  • Medium Red Enchilada Sauce

  • Mild Green Enchilada Sauce

Las Palmas does sell a few other varieties of enchilada sauce, as well as other products that perfectly complement a variety of Mexican dishes. The Las Palmas sauces come in different heats including mild, medium, and hot. 

What Are The Ingredients in Las Palmas’ Enchilada Sauce?

The following ingredients are for the Las Palmas Original Style Enchilada Sauce:

  • Water

  • Dried Red Chile Peppers

  • Salt

  • Cottonseed Oil

  • Cider Vinegar

  • Fumaric Acid

  • Garlic Powder

  • Spice

  • Olive Oil

Nutritional Information For Las Palmas Enchilada Sauce

The following nutritional information is for the Las Palmas Original Style Enchilada Sauce. One serving is considered to be ¼ of a cup. 

Calories

15 calories 

Fat

0.5 grams

Carbohydrates

3 grams

Fiber

1 gram

Protein

1 gram

Sugar

2 grams

Cholesterol

O milligrams

Sodium

370 milligrams

Iron

2%

Potassium

2%

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}