Is Limoncello Gluten-Free?

Is Limoncello Gluten Free

Is the Alcoholic Drink Limoncello Gluten Free?

Limoncello is gluten-free when it is made from an alcohol that is gluten free.

About Limoncello

Limoncello is made out of water, hard alcohol (usually vodka), lemon peels, and sugar.

To make limoncello you have to soak the lemon peels for days in the vodka. The sugar and water make a simple syrup which is added after 4+ days.

Limoncello is a traditional alcohol from Italy’s Amalfi Coast. True Limoncello is made from lemons grown in the area. The limoncello recipe has been handed down for generations among the people and families of the coast. Other varieties come from the Sorrento region and the Capri region of Italy.

Recipes go all the way back to the Middle Ages. They believe it started as a way for fisherman and boats to get some citrus in their diet while out on the water.

Ingredients

  • Lemon peels
  • Vodka or similar hard alcohol
  • Water
  • Sugar

Nutritional Information

Serving Size: 1 oz

G = grams
Calories 103
Carbs  11g
Protein 0g
Fat 0g

*Nutrition will vary based on brand name, type (store bought or homemade), etc.

Making Limoncello at Home

If you want to make certain your limoncello is gluten free the best way is to make it at home. To make it at home you need the ingredients and time. It is a simple recipe to follow. Make sure to choose an alcohol that is gluten free.

Tips for Making it at Home:

  • Select Organic Lemons that have no wax or pesticides on the peel
  • Use a High Proof Alcohol – You get a better infusion from Higher Proof alcohols
  • Avoid peeling off any of the white part under the skin. This is the bitter area and is not very tasty.
  • Start with one cup of the simple syrup and add more to taste. Add in by ¼ cup measurements. You can even go smaller to teaspoons or tablespoons.

Recipe:

  • 10 lemons
  • 1 bottle of vodka or High proof alcohol
  • 3 ½ cups of water
  • 2 ½ cups of sugar
  1. Infuse the Alcohol: Peel the lemons into the alcohol. Infuse them in the fridge for 4 or more days.
  2. After 4 days, make the simple syrup: Stir water and sugar in the sauce pan and bring to a boil. Make sure all of the sugar dissolves. You want the stove at medium heat. Once the sugar is dissolved take it off the heat and cool.
  3. Add in 1 cup of the simple syrup. Taste the limoncello. Keep adding the simple syrup until it tastes as sweet as you want. 
  4. Cover the container and leave it on the counter-top overnight. Note: Do not do this on a very cold or very hot day. You want it at a normal room temperature.
  5. Strain the limoncello into smaller containers. Seal them well and store in the fridge. Homemade limoncello will last for at least a month in the fridge.

Sources: 

Celiac.com – https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/30839-limoncello/

Pallini Limoncello – https://www.pallini.com/en/products/limoncello#:~:text=Its%20versatility%20is%20almost%20endless,Free%2C%20Gluten%20Free%2C%20Kosher.

Liquor.com – https://www.liquor.com/recipes/limoncello/

My Recipes – https://www.myrecipes.com/how-to/cooking-questions/what-is-limoncello

Food Network – https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/limoncello-recipe-1916618 

My Fitness Pal – https://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/calories/limoncello-liqueur-741304712

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}